We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent and the keep their staff which says a lot!”
Review of Marios Trattoria

Marios Trattoria
Ranked #1,102 of 2,574 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Consistent and the keep their staff which says a lot!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Had a meal there recently and as usual all was great. Its not expensive and always delivers.
The friendly staff are the same which is a good sign and they recognise you when you return which is always a good start to an evening in Ranelagh.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RezIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    47
    21
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh pasta; pizza may need a re-think”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Ate at Mario's last night after eye-balling the place for several weeks. Opted for one of the starter specials advertised on the large blackboards inside the restaurant: three crab ravioli in a velvety cream dill sauce served with some grilled courgettes--this was the culinary highlight of this month, let alone the meal. Following this, I went for a vesuvio (salami, parma ham, mozz, and black olive pizza), but here the magic wore off. Simple details: parma ham fat looks like mozz (in low light)--what you see is not what you taste. More than this, though, is that there was a mob of meat on the pie. Less might do. Also, the black olives were lacking in punch. With some attention to ingredients, Mario's might make the best pizza in Dublin. Basics: crust, sauce, and mozz were fantastic. Other notes for this poor soul: service was professional and friendly, on the button. Ambiance: same. The highlight, as I said, was the ravioli. Disclaimer: this is the first restaurant where I ordered fresh pasta anything. I once thought it'd be something boring to order in a resto (why order spaghetti in a resto?). Now I am a convert, and will go back to see what Marios brings the next time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank booandbren819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Positive Experience”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

It appears that Mario's can be somewhat eclectic in terms of food quality, service, etc. Whatever the negatives may be, they'll get no complaints from me - perfectly cooked fresh selection of vegetables accompanying a generous helping of poached salmon, with a very tasty desert to follow. A nice atmosphere also helped to make for a charming evening.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreedyMessiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent highly recommend”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Nice atmosphere and excellent staff, very friendly. Went there with family on sunday and food was super quality, will definitely be going back soon.

There early bird menu is very good value and top quality too.

Well done and keep up the good work.Good to see that some places don't drop the qulaity and service for the XMAS rush.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Terenure Management????”
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

I was here with 2 of my kids, as I have been before, an thought it would be still the family friendly restaurant as I knew it was. Well to my horror mamagent do not show the style they should, a lady with dark hair (i assume was mgr) was rude, disinterested and used bad language quiet loudly around the restaurant.
I will not be back until mgmt are addressed, I think restauarants need to be extra friendly in this day and age, nowhere is thriving that good to be able to shrug customers off and not look after them properly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank girly2010Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marios Trattoria also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Ranelagh, County Dublin
 

Been to Marios Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing