We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for what it is ...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of l'Gueuleton

l'Gueuleton
Ranked #336 of 2,529 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $53
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good for what it is ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We ate dinner here after a movie last weekend ... we got:
- good mainstream food well prepared and presented, nothing remarkable
- great service ... restaurant was very very busy, service did not suffer and even though there were customers waiting the restaurant placed us under no pressure to move on
- great atmosphere ... the space is attractive and place was buzzing ... we were there as a couple, but it would be really good for a group
- reasonable value
They did a good job and we had no complaints really.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Breakingoutnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    180
    74
    26
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Trendy Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great restaurant on trendy fade st. Very good food and staff. Looks across at Zenergy massage and beside other good bars and restaurants

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a convenient location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Visited this restaurant for lunch for the first time recently. Our group of 4 had a most enjoyable meal. We started with the French onion soup which was excellent and piping hot. Two of us had the pork belly which was delicious and the other two salmon with nice crispy skin on a bed of potato with green beans. The salmon came with a free glass of wine. We skipped dessert as we normally restrict ourselves to two courses which were more than adequate. We finished with a nice cup of coffee. Service was excellent. Very reasonably priced. Will definitely visit again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank theprofDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Christmas Night Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Went here for the first time in December with another couple. Staff, food, atmosphere, all great! Will definitely be back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kevin101_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistent, pleasant experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Have dined here a few times, usually solo when in town for work. I appreciate that I can sit up at the bar and dine there without a reservation, if there is space. Would actually choose that seat if I had company too as bar staff are lovely and attentive, and comfortable vantage point in room. I usually order the same thing when there which is foie gras starter and the rib eye steak with bearnaise for main which is sublime. The quality of meat is excellent and knife cuts through it as it were butter.
I was surprised that an earlier reviewer had observed staff as having attitude as I have had the opposite experience and usually sensitive to such matters. As a solo diner, I appreciated that they are friendly and check in frequently without being obtrusive asking my thoughts on my various wine selections by the glass which are excellent. Another thing I think is noteworthy is that if you show up without a booking, there is an attempt to fit you in without fuss or attitude. One of my favourite spots in Dublin.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eimear k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed l'Gueuleton also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to l'Gueuleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing