We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, small French restaurant in the heart of Dublin”
Review of Chez Max

Chez Max
Ranked #250 of 2,558 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $147
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Lancaster, Pa.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Charming, small French restaurant in the heart of Dublin”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

After spending some time touring around Dublin, we "lucked out" when we spotted this small, charming restaurant with outside and inside seating. We had a small lunch, outside, on the small front patio, choosing salads which were well-prepared and fresh, accompanied by a glass of wine; selected from a nice wine menu. The experience was so positive, that we decided to return for our evening meal, especially since, after 2-1/2 weeks of traveling around Ireland, we were a little tired of some of the Irish fare. We were not disappointed. Again, our meal was amazing, freshly prepared and presented and the service excellent. We ended our meal with chocolate mousse, which easily could be compared to desserts we had while touring France in the past. Definitely would recommend this lovely restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJ9156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    172
    49
    15
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best creme brule outside France”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I went to this restaurant in Dublin to celebrate my b-day and I don't regret. They have really tasty fish dishes and amazing wines. The salon is charming and cosy. I will certainly come back soon.
The creme brule is to die for!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Good atmosphere and friendly staff. Probably unfair to judge on the basis of a starter and a salad but I'm glad that I didn't order anything else.

Onion soup should be very straightforward for a "French restaurant" but what I got was a bowl with boiling water, onions and a stock cube. No resemblance to proper onion soup. As mentioned by another recent reviewer, they served grated cheese and some little cube shaped croutons on the side. The chicken salad was boring, basically a few strips of chicken, leaves and cherry tomatoes. House wine and beer was fine.

The setting and staff were great, it was very buzzy but I found the food a real let down.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank minniethemooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It felt beautifully like being in France”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We had the Formulae at lunchtime. Great value!
'Home made burger' can be dodgy but this was the real thing. Excellently cooked and presented. They do chips (I refuse to call them fries!) really well. And a glass of wine and coffee included for €12!! Where else would you go?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Julian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Simply put they can't cook a steak correctly. The med rare steaks came out very well done (cardboard would be a better description) the rare steak was fatty and more blue than rare. The bernaise sauce was cold. The red wine was too warm. At €50 per head when only 1 person had deserts there is much better better places to eat in dublin.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Max also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Chez Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing