We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and nice surroundings”
Review of Kinara

Kinara
Ranked #233 of 2,558 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $89
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Kinara overlooks Bull Island with beautiful views of Dublin bay.Kinara was opened by Sean Collender and Shoaib Yunus in 2001, Kinara's aim is to provide a friendly and relaxed atmosphere where you can enjoy a consistently good standard of food and service.Open 7 nights a week for dinner and Thursday to Sunday for lunch
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent food and nice surroundings”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The best Indian food I've had in Dublin. Ask for a table at the front so you can see the view, the dining areas at the back have no windows. I would say the food is a bit over priced for the location of the restaurant and what you get but overall this is a quality establishment.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bayside101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    80
    27
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“superb tandoori lobster”
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

i was a little dubious about trying tandoori lobster but was very pleased really delicious ! the food was well presented much larger portion than expected which is always pleasant, lovely mojitos too !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmay1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Kinara is food and service at it's very best.”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We visit Kinara on special occasions, such as birthdays, communions and new years eve. It is a beautiful venue, the service is impeccable and the food is fantastic... We are always made to feel very welcome, even though we are often bringing small children.. I will always return to Kinara

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining Experience always”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I eat at this restaurant very regularly and each time is a wonderful experience. The food is superb, definitely Michelin star quality. The staff are so courteous and pleasant, nothing is too much trouble. The decor and ambience is first class and the sea view is breathtaking. Definitely a place to take someone special, you won't be disappointed. The Early Bird Menu is excellent value and their wine list is very good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portimao, Portugal
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great ambience and great food”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We booked a reservation for two at this beautiful restaurant. The food was divine and the view of Clontarf Bay was breathtaking. The ambience is perfect for those seeking a cosy and relaxing night with exquisite cuisine.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank u4ria65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Owner at Kinara, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Many thanks and hope to see you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kinara also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Malahide, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Kinara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing