We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trocadero

Trocadero
Ranked #58 of 2,529 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $37
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: South City Centre
ireland
Level Contributor
297 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Was a regular visitor here some years ago and decided to revisit. it has lost nothing of it well deserved reputation. food and service was excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank micra03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    231
    62
    35
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Curragh, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“best service in Dublin without exception”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

we had an 8pm booking and left after 12 - dining here is an experience. Make sure you can talk and like your company - do not go here for quick and easy. The ultimate in service, knowledgeable, experienced and fun. All the ladies and gents take time to get to know the regulars and the atmosphere is almost without comparison. You are always likely to bump into to someone famous, invariably relaxed and happy. Such is the venue.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank vinnyobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Made my night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Went for a meal in Trocadero for my birthday . Had to book in advance as it is a very popular restaurant .we were shown to our table by a very welcoming and friendly lady .our waiter was one of the most pleasant and attentive people you would ever meet . Nothing was too much trouble for him . Our starters of pâté and prawns were scrumptious . Main courses of steaks and chicken were cooked exactly as we ordered . Desserts we skipped . When it was time to pay the bill my partner mentioned that we were celebrating my birthday and in a few seconds I had the best rendition of Happy Birthday I ever had from 3 of the waiters . Brilliant . Well done Trocadero . Will def be back to this Great restaurant . By the way along with song they brought a profiterole dessert with a candle in it , great touch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FinnGrehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Have been meaning to go to Trocadero for years, finally got there on the June bank holiday weekend. From the moment we arrived we know we were going to have a lovely evening, there was such a lovely atmosphere in the place. Even though it was full there was a sense of calmness. The food was fabulous, I had asparagus to start with followed by the monkfish and we shared the crumble and cheesecake to finish. Would highly recommend Trocadero for any occasion.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amo1160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food with fantastic ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Returned to The Troc after a few months absence, as have been busy and not had chance to be in the city much for dinner. The restaurant has recently had some redecorative work done - much like a great theatre dame, none was needed but it's always nice to freshen up! Wonderful attentive service with excellent food, some nice seasonal changes to the menu but keeping the main attractions firmly where they belong. I always pick this restaurant for groups as I feel there is something for everyone on the menu, and I've not been let down yet. It was lovely to see quite a few couples also in on a Saturday night - great place to go for a date as there is plenty going on and it's a great location. We sat down at 8.30 on a Saturday night and I was pleased to see that there was a constant flow of both reservations and some walk ins arriving.
My only criticism would be of the new dinnerware - the new plates are awful, not in keeping with the style of the restaurant and it's a shame as the owners have probably spent money on them so they'll keep using them. There was nothing wrong with the old ones, please switch back!
That said, we are already planning our return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BackToBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trocadero also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Trocadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing