We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting flavors, great service. A gem in Dublin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pearl Brasserie

Pearl Brasserie
Ranked #26 of 2,526 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $37 - $74
Cuisines: French, Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Interesting flavors, great service. A gem in Dublin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

A great little restaurant. We were greeted, coats taken and seated by friendly faces. The menu is interesting, with good flavors, complimented by an extensive wine list including French and new world wines. I had the king scallops , with duck heart to start and the cod in a lobster bisque as a main. My father enjoyed the ribeye, which was grilled exactly to his choice and served with a tasty sauce. The cheese selection, including local Irish and French cheeses was served with a fig preserve and grapes. Nice way to end the meal. We were there on a Saturday and a reservation is a must. Definitely be back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Macarad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    513
    169
    57
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DUBLIN
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Food was disappointing. We had lunch here last week. I was expecting great food as their food photos on their web site look fantastic. We shared the Tiger prawns in tempura for our starter. They were fresh but the overall dish was tasteless. I had the ribeye, too thinly cut but cooked to order. It was tender but not a great flavor but the jus was delicious. My daughter went for the Turbot which was overcooked and tough and the accompanying mushrooms and beef cheek were overpowering for a fish dish. Dishes are on the small side and we ordered a portion of Dauphinoise (€4) One starter, two mains, one portion of veg, one dessert, one carafe of red wine and two coffees came to €99.50 before tip! A very expensive lunch and a disappointing visit!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FOODIE1Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Small changes needed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Excellent attentive service without being intrusive. very nice decor and ambience. good choice of wines. I had scallops, duck hearts and plum puree for starter, scallops delicious, puree nice, hearts average. turbot for mains, fish delicious as was gratin side dish. rest of main beef cheek, onion consume and mushrooms didn't complement, rather over powered fish. choc tarte for desert, too much choc and v poor pastry with delicious passion fruit sorbet and white choc gravel. In summary, delicious fish throughout spoiled by need to serve with something different on plate plus plates were cold. so this restaurant has massive potential with small changes required to justify prices, hopefully constructive criticism.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathalaodh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Early Bird”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Availed of "Early Bird" with a friend. Food was superb and service extremely friendly. Will return to sample A la Carte

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Natsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Magnifique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

This has to be the best French restaurant in Ireland.
Impeccable food, brilliant service and wonderful ambiance.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearl Brasserie also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Pearl Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing