We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Early Bird”
Review of Pearl Brasserie

Pearl Brasserie
Ranked #24 of 2,558 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $37 - $74
Cuisines: French, Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: Pearl Brasserie restaurant Dublin opened its doors on the 7th December 2000. Our first objective was to build a team with a hunger to learn and a passion for detail. The same hard work was being asked of our Irish and continental suppliers. So we were able to get the best Irish and French produce on a daily basis. Culinary ingenuity and skill from the kitchen combines with warm, welcoming, professional service delivering one of Dublin’s premier fine dining experiences. Our head chef/patron Sebatien Masi was awarded Best chef of the year 2017 by Georgina Campbell’s Guides, Pearl Brasserie continues to perform at the top of the game in Dublin. Bon Appetite
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Early Bird”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Availed of "Early Bird" with a friend. Food was superb and service extremely friendly. Will return to sample A la Carte

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    530
    170
    58
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Magnifique”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This has to be the best French restaurant in Ireland.
Impeccable food, brilliant service and wonderful ambiance.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk res
Level Contributor
299 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“At the top of its game”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Close to St Stephans Green this large cellar establishment hit all the buttoms! Excellent choice of ...we particulary like the starters. A good wine lisr with many carafes available. Not the cheapest place! ...but then you might expect that.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kattyukres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
102 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very nearly bang on”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Pearl's sister restaurant Locke's has a Michelin star - so why doesn't Pearl? The answer is, I think, that both front and back of house are mostly very good indeed, but then make a few careless errors - very minor ones but nontheless mistakes that shouldn't be made at this level and in this price bracket. We disagreed about whether the recent redecoration was an improvement. I like it, husband thought some of the old intimacy had been lost - he's a regular, I only get to go as a treat every year or so. We did think the bar, where one waits until the table is ready or until the rest of the party has assembled, is not quite as "clubby" as it used to be, but drinks and service are still just as good, and just as correct but friendly. The same went for the wine, a well rounded New Zealand pinot noir, and its service. No problems in the sommelier department. And now to food. The starters - tempura prawns were declared to be the best every, anywhere, octopus, confit lemon, lardo - the lemon drowned out the octopus and we couldn't find the lardo. Somewhere in the middle the soup, celeriac with foie gras - the soup was puree, too thick to really be a soup, the foie gras served in a cigar - when you bit into one end it squirted out the other down the sweater. Not good but it was tasty. The other ingredients had got lost somewhere. In the mains department two of use had the squab breast. The main part of the squab breast was perfectly cooked but skin should be either crispy or removed - still attached but chewy is not good. And foie gras is not supposed to be well done - that was a disaster. We wondered if it had been under the lamps of the pass too long. Much better was the monkfish I stole from someone else's plate - though Portobello mushrooms had become enokitaki on the plate, if not on the menu. Still trying to work out why there was a sheet of (very well made) pasta over the cod. Pasta is a strong point - a lovely ravioli came with the squab. And the truffle mousseline that accompanied the squab was very generous indeed with the truffles. Smelt, looked and tasted delightful. Among the desserts the lemon plate was delightful - except that the waitress had to be asked twice for a spoon small enough to fit into the jar of lemon jelly. The strawberry parfait looked great - and we particularly like the basil meringue - it will be appearing on our home menus with both sweet and savoury dishes. The chocolate ball filled with raspberry sorbet tasted good but again was a little let down by the service - the hot chocolate sauce should have been poured in such a way as to penetrate the shell but leave crisp shards. Creme brulee was, unfortunately, overcooked, and the helping was too big for the final course in a restaurant where servings of starters and mains are very generous.
Waiting staff were not as engaged as they have been on previous visits, but we'll certainly be back

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DublinKaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
1 review
“High recommended”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Superb food, great ambiance, nice server, and the mix a mean martini, too. Loved the local oysters and cheese course. A highpoint of our recent trip to Dublin.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearl Brasserie also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Pearl Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing