We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice restaurant but flaky service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yamamori Sushi

Yamamori Sushi
Ranked #250 of 2,529 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $38
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant but flaky service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We went to Yamamori recently. It was my fourth visit. It is a very busy restaurant - a casual dining experience. I have tried lots of different things on the menu and all were good to very good. Normally the service is good and friendly, but the last time it was just friendly. It wouldn't however deter me from going back again because it is a fun, casual place to eat for a reasonable price with good quality food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YamamoriNoodles, Manager at Yamamori Sushi, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thanks Karen,
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback,
and we are very happy to hear you enjoy our food and atmosphere at Yamamori. I am sorry to hear you were unhappy with the service on your last visit though, and will mention this to management.
We hope to see you again soon.
The Yamamori Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    198
    76
    30
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
96 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“a bit expensive, but very enjoyable in general”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

My friend and I had a long leisurely boozy lunch here recently. It was nice enough to sit outside in the courtyard area which on a warm day is very refreshing. It did spit rain twice over our 4 hours here, but the staff simply closed over the roof covering for a few minutes until it had stopped – all very discretely.
The great think about Japanese food is that you can order lots of smaller things and get to sample more than just the one thing. I had the yasai goyoza to start (vegetarian dumplings) and then went on to have the veggie tempura and a serving of steamed rice. Not being a fan of aubergine, I asked could the chef amend the dish to only have sweet potato and asparagus and this was no problem at all. My friend had two different kinds of sushi followed by the beef carpaccio a side serving of gherkins. We both ordered dessert and shared a bottle of sauvignon with our meal. We also each had a coke, and then two glasses of dessert wine each after we had finished eating. It was a very chilled out experience, but then that is the general vibe of Yamamori Sushi.
Our meal was not cheap, and it came to just short of 100euro – but we enjoyed every mouthful and every second of it. I’d definitely recommend this restaurant over the other branch on Georges Street – it just always seems more airy and less crowded too. The outdoor area could do with a lick of paint and the leaves sweeping up

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Samwhiplash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YamamoriNoodles, Manager at Yamamori Sushi, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thanks Sam,
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback,
and we are very happy to hear you enjoy our food and atmosphere at Yamamori. You will be happy to hear we have since painted the bamboo garden with some fun Japanese art.
We hope to see you again soon.
The Yamamori Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
468 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Ive been in Yamamori a couple of times with different groups of friends - and it is always a hit.

I LOVE Japanese food and always order way too much when I am there, but everything has always been amazing. So delicious, little plates of heaven.

Some of my friends are not sushi fans, but they always find lots of options for them to try and have always wanted to come back and try it again.

Its always busy, and the staff are generally really friendly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Orla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YamamoriNoodles, Manager at Yamamori Sushi, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thanks Orla,
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback,
and we are very happy to hear you enjoy our food at Yamamori.
We hope to see you again soon.
The Yamamori Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sushi is good, asian waitress are rude”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Sushi and sashimi plates are good, the kitchen is open and is nice to see how cookers work. Place and kitchen seems to be clean and hygienic. Place is big and the atmosphere is nice, unfortunately we have been there several times, but every time it happens to be served from Asian waitresses who are quite rude: they never smile, they speaks in a low voice and all the times they forgot to bring us or the glasses of water, the cutlery and when we order the desserts they never think about bringing us new paper napkins. Sushi is good though and I like the menu with the Kcal indication per each plate!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kica_36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YamamoriNoodles, Manager at Yamamori Sushi, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thanks Kica,
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback,
and we are very happy to hear you enjoy the food and atmosphere at Yamamori, but are very disappointed to hear the staff have not been friendly or efficient. This is very important for us and we are looking into it.
We hope to see you again soon.
The Yamamori Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“unexpected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

my father and I were looking for something quick and easy to eat, we saw this little door and decided to give it a try since we haven't eaten sushi in a while.
best decision ever, from that little door is like another world was hiding behind.
the restaurant is big, clean and friendly.
recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank miomio84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YamamoriNoodles, Manager at Yamamori Sushi, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thanks Miomio
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback,
and we are very happy to hear you enjoy your visits to Yamamori.
We hope to see you again soon.
The Yamamori Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yamamori Sushi also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Yamamori Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing