We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Menu changed for the worse”

Baan Thai Ballsbridge
Ranked #158 of 2,558 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Authentic Thai Cuisine, Warm Thai Ambience, and Truly Thai Hospitality.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Menu changed for the worse”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I have been going to Baan Thai while in Dublin for over 5 years now and this visit was disappointing. The menu has changed and the options are not as good as they used to be. Would have to think about going back when in the area again, whereas before it was an automatic choice.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    113
    24
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Lovely thai food and nice staff”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We arrived here on Valentine's Day before a match at the RDS. The staff were attentive as soon as we arrived. WE ordered a bottle of NZ Sauvignon blanc which was very nice. For the mains we ordered a yellow beef curry and a lamb penang curry. Both were very nice, especially the yellow curry. The atmosphere is nice but we felt a bit cramped and close to the other tables. When we had finished the meal they brought us a chocolate covered strawberry each which was a nice touch. Would definitely come here again for a nice Thai meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RosineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

This is a really nice intimate Thai restaurant. The food was very tasty and service was good. They accommodated our requests. It's also very reasonable for price.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank OnO955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skerries, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Probably the best Tom Yum in Dublin”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is a small upstairs restaurant and very convenient for pre-match food when Leinster are playing at home. The tom yum was excellent, the pad Thai was a bit disappointing. The green curry was super. They have Singha beer. Service good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scoll365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Early Bird fab value”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

two of us went last night for the early bird served until 7pm. €18 pp. Good choice on the e/b menu. We shared Chicken Satay and a prawn dish. Satay sauce particularly good. We had a beef red curry and prawn green curry with boiled rice. Both excellent with very good portions. Carafe of Red Wine good value at €15 - Shiraz and was very good with the dishes (despite one being fish!). It has been a number of years since I ate here and standards have been maintained. Very little interaction with the staff but that was not an issue for us. If you want a cheaper Thai Restaurant option in D1, try Thai Spice in Talbot St. Mind you if you go for lunch you may have to pre-book. Usually no problem with tables in the evenings.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baan Thai Ballsbridge also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Baan Thai Ballsbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing