We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Numerous Visits Later, No Faults” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toscana

Toscana
Ranked #115 of 2,526 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $38
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Temple Bar
Description: Toscana City Centre recently awarded the Good Food Ireland Best Grow It Yourself Restaurant in Ireland. Ideally located in the heart of Dublin with a view towards Dublin Castle on the edge of Temple Bar. Toscana takes inspiration from our organic gardens in Co Wicklow to bring the spirit of Italian cooking into our kitchens right here in the City. At the heart of Toscana lies a celebration of food that is fresh, natural and unpretentious, elevating traditional and modern cooking into flavours our customers love. Our chef/Proprietor grows home-grown fruit salads vegetables and herbs from his family farm-house in Co Wicklow and brings to Dublin City Centre fresh daily by the seasons. Toscana has become an icon for pre theatre diners great family gatherings. From couples to groups, corporate to friends. There is a seat for everyone in our farm to table restaurant. Buon appetito!
ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Numerous Visits Later, No Faults”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

My favourite restaurant in Dublin, the food here is fantastic. the staff are extremely friendly . I cannot recommend this place enough.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bluth-boi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    604
    306
    121
    41
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Really good dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had a lovely time at Toscana. The staff were really attentive, we were never waiting long to order food/ drinks or for it to arrive. The cocktails were lovely, as was everything we ordered. Our food wasn't cheap, but we felt it was worth it, we really enjoyed ourselves. We wish we could go again, but live too far away!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank senorita2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A suprise find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Ate here because it was round corner from our apartment and the weather was so terrible we didn't want to walk any further. The restaurant was warm and cosy, we got a lovely greeting from staff, offered drinks straight and really we did not wait unduly for anything. Thought it might be traditional trattoria affair, but it was much better than that good quality Italian cooking, my daughter says it was the best fish she'd had in a restaurant and I would have to agree it is high on my list too. (My fish was so big I asked to take it away for lunch the next day - It didn't disappoint second time around). We just had house wine which was fine for the price = 10 Euros for a carafe We will definitely eat at the Toscana next time we are in Dublin.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank rhona w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Can not recommend based on experience of Friday 22nd March. Food was passable but major issues with Service. Food took almost 1.5 hours to arrive. During that time no wait staff checked on our table, asked if we wanted more drinks etc. It seemed a real struggle alround and some serious customer relations training needs to take place. For example, if there is a problem or a problem occurs and you are made aware of it perhaps you should react and/or make some sort of recompense gesture?

Helpful?
Thank CB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damestreet, Guest Relations Manager at Toscana, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your honest review. We did have a serious accident at the restaurant during your visit, we are so sorry, we have messaged you directly to apologise and hope you can understand, your review is justified, we are extremely apologetic as our manager was tending to the accident. Please email us directly or respond to your personal message as we hope to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The value for money and the choice of food in Toscana restaurant is second to none. The atmosphere in the restaurant is very relaxing and enjoyable and the staff are extremly friendly and pleasant. We had our children with us and the choice for them was excellent. I cant recomend this restaurant highly enough go with friends or your family and I am sure you will love it like we did. I am already planning my next trip back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toscana also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing