We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”
Review of ely gastro bar - CLOSED

ely gastro bar
Price range: $0 - $37
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The successfully trading ely gastro bar,c, will close its doors on Monday 19th January. Following the withdrawal of Danske Bank from the Irish market, the property was put up for sale on June 6th, 2014 and is now confirmed as sold. Ely gastro bar has successfully traded in Grand Canal Square since opening its doors in 2007 and has received many awards and accolades for its commitment to food provenance and service, plus widespread recognition for its selection of craft beers, cocktails and, of course, wines over the past seven years.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Such a lovely evening in Ely, food was fabulous, great wine and cocktail list! Staff were so helpful and friendly. Great atmosphere can't wait to go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CMeredit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Competitions, General Manager at ely gastro bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Great to hear you enjoyed your visit with us, all the team really appreciate your comments.
Comeback for our new brunch menu at the Weekends, hope to see you soon.


Thanks again

Justin Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 191 of 324 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

Popped into Ely Gastro Pub for Sunday lunch. It was an excellent experience from the moment I came in the door to when I paid the bill. The service was efficient, friendly and personable like only Irish service can be. I had the roast beef and a lime meringue for desert, the food was excellently cooked and presented. In addition I was offered extra gravy to go on my beef, which for a beef lover like myself made all the difference. I felt like I could drink a pint of that lovely gravy. Both the food and drinks menu were finely balanced, catering for all tastes with creative options showing this establishments cuisine credentials. All in all a memorable lunch that I intend to have again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elywinebar, General Manager at ely gastro bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Chris,

Thanks for your feedback about your lunch with us yesterday. Always a pleasure to serve you,
hope to see you soon again.


All the team at ely gastro pub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Wen ther aftr a show on sunday nite 6 of us place was fab ! Great decor service was v good! Food modern and inovative!!! Wine list expansive and exciting and place is close 2 everywer and funky as

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kboland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elywinebar, General Manager at ely gastro bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your experience with us, we are delighted that you had a great time.
Hope to see you soon again.

All the Team at ely Gastro pub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The location is great..a modern place in a quiet area down by the water! We liked the restaurant and it has a nice, if a little dark, feel to it.
Spotted as we entered and straight to table where we enjoyed excellent service from our two serving waiters. There is an top wine selection and you can order 80 by the glass! The menu is not extensive...why should it be?...but there is something for all tastes. Check the special board as ...sorry!...I couldn't understand a word the first welcoming water said.

We shared the pate and this was excellent if needing a little more flavour. It should stand on it's own without any chutney, which accompanied the pate. It was a good chutney a lovely balance of onion, sweetness and texture.

Ah, the burgers! Sorry guys...please stop the seemingly modern trend to build a skyscraper. Not only can you not eat it but you just can not cook it properly. The tasty fries were served in a deep fryer basket and this was novel and a nice idea.
People think a burger is easy...it isn't. In fact a good burger is a difficult thing to cook just right. I have travelled all of the 49 mainland states in the US so have had my fair share of excellent, even cosmic, burgers. Every single one there is cooked with a larger thinner meat patty.

So how would I improve this one?

1. A thinner, larger patty served in a proper burger sesame bun.
2. Toast all of the bun. Ours wasn't so it draws the heat away from the meat.
3. Caramelise the outside of the patty and make the inside juicy with a little more fat. Our burgers were grey on the outside and cooked so slowly (they were so thick) they were dry. A good burger takes seconds over a searing heat.

I love medium rare and the stupid Health and Safety seem to think we shouldn't eat meat this way. Has it done any harm to the French who have eaten raw meats for centuries? Why not a simple disclaimer on the menu,,,,"We do not recommend the eating of undercooked meat but will prepare it this way if you so wish" It works in the States!

There are pesky kids here as they have kids specials. The two little creeps jumping up and down and shouting didn't add to the atmosphere. So another suggestion for the menu...."We warmly welcome well behaved children. But please remember that there are other diners so we ask you to ensure they are well behaved.."

Very well plated and presented desserts. A good (though a bit heavy) crème brulee and a very good apple crumble.

A proper burger and Ely is a 4+.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Harleyclarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elywinebar, General Manager at ely gastro bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Sir, thank you for your comments regarding your dining experience with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the food and the service.

ely has enjoyed huge success with our organic beef burger, hand made from beef reared on our organic farm for over a decade now.

Our burgers are cooked to order on a searing hot charcoal grill and ely have always championed the ability for our customer to choose how they would like their burger cooked. Your burger should not have been grey or dry in the slightest, we agree a juicy burger with the proper accompaniments on fresh baked bun is what its all about.

Our breads are baked fresh by Dave our baker every morning, our desserts are prepared
soley for the service ahead. We are glad you enjoyed them.

Whilst we can sympathise with your comments regarding children in the venue,
we recently won best children’s menu in Ireland and whilst the staff are always at hand to oblige or help with children’s requirements we leave the parenthood with the parents.

We can only apologise if the children around you affected your dining experience,
we would have been happy to move you and your guest to a quieter table.

Once again we thank you for all your comments, we value your custom and hope that you return soon.


Kind Regards,


Justin Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have just come home from having in Ely gastro and it was a very nice suprise when I read some of the reviews I was a bit weary, but the place, receiption area, serving staff were all brilliant I was meeting a friend there and we both enjoyed it expeciall the fish and chips well done will diffiently go back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank catherineSchool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elywinebar, General Manager at ely gastro bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your lunch with us.
We are glad that you enjoyed both our food and service. We did have some issues in December and have worked very hard to rectify those issues. New menus for lunch, pre-theatre, dinner and brunch.
We're delighted that you noticed!

Many Thanks and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ely gastro bar also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing