We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great staff”
Review of ely wine bar

ely wine bar
Ranked #185 of 2,558 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $37
Cuisines: Irish, European, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: Since 1999, the iconic ely wine bar has paved the way for engaging, rewarding and fantastic value wines in Dublin. Not only characterised by its extensive list of 100 wines by the glass, 400 by the bottle, it's also loved for its melt-in-the-mouth organic beef, organic pork and "Craggy Island" lamb - sourced through ely's organic family farm in The Burren, Co. Clare.
County Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“great staff”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

we went here on a saturday night and there was a great buzz in the place,the staff were very friendly and the place was spotless..,last to leave we will be back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank valeofhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    139
    38
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Freat burger... world class chips!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Great ambience in this elegant basement restaurant. Huge selection of wines by the glass. Attentive service. Some of the best fries I've ever had.
.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WDSPonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ely wine bar”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Excellent meal well prepared and served. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Organic wine was very good. A good atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodlover999dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Friendly and accomodating”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our first visit was for a late evening drink and snack. We were immediately seated in the bar. Very nice wine menu by the glass. Friendly server with solid knowledge of the menu. We had meat and cheese plate that included a head-turningly generous amount of excellent ham, salami, etc and 3-4 different cheese. Some of our partly would have preferred more cheese and less meat but at 28 euro, it was a generous and high quality item. A few days later it was a group consensus that we wanted to test the kitchen and have another bottle of the excellent Rioja we'd had earlier int he week. We again dropped in without a reservation and were again seated quickly in the bar. The manager recalled us from our previous visit an greeted us like old friends. The restaurant was pretty busy so he stepped in to personally take our order. He was professional AND friendly. We asked for a bottle of the Rioja and a nice Argentine sparkler to drink while the red was breathing. "I like your style" the manager declared. We felt more like guests in someone's home. The burgers and chips (fries) were declared excellent. I had a unique surf and turf of monkfish fritters atop parsley mash and a 'ratatouille with oxtail.: Very tastey, This is not a white tablecloth place but a high energy (Noisy) restaurant. With just a few days to spend in Dublin we avoided return visits but we were glad to go to Ely's twice and would seek it out again if ever in Dublin.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Five star service- as good as it gets”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I needed a restaurant in Dublin to treat a hungry, hard working group of International advertising judges to dinner and Ely came highly recommended.

We were absolutely thrilled with everything and will definitely be choosing Ely for all future business lunches/ dinners.

The waiter was a dream and the food was delicious.

Thank you Ely for making the experience so enjoyable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraKeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ely wine bar also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to ely wine bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing