We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch deal”
Review of The Port House

The Port House
Ranked #215 of 2,558 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $11
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: Located at 64A South William Street this beautiful and solely candle lit wine cavern has been stripped back to its original features. As a traditional Spanish tapas bar it boasts a fantastic selection of authentic tapas. The Port House wine menu is varied and full of interesting wines, ports and sherries at a very reasonable price, carefully selected from Spanish and Portuguese regions. It is the ideal place for one to relax, enjoy some tapas with a glass of wine and soak up the ambiance that makes this spot a must try.
Ireland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great lunch deal”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The food here is always lovely, and they do a great lunch deal (two dishes for 10 euros which includes a drink), however this deal is only available Monday - Thursday, which doesn't suit myself and a lot of my friends who are only really free for lunches on Fridays or Saturdays, I think they would make a lot more business if they extended the lunch offer to Fri/Sat as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MirandaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    217
    62
    33
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch for amazing €10”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch today in The Port House. I am a regular at this restaurant as I love everything about it especially the fantastic tapas. Lunch consists of two tapas and a drink (wine or a soft drink) for €10 per person. As usual I wasn't disappointed. Food was great and I the portions were Hugh so I didn't leave hungry! Would highly recommend for lunch or at any time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Niamh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great tapas, horrible service”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Went to the port house recently after some.recommendations, food is better than in the market bar, loads of choices and prices are good.
But the place is really small, you cannot book it.
But the worst seems to be waiter forgetting you and when you tell them, no excuses !
Might worth to go but on a weekday instead

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank meltrotteuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful tapas bar, really poor food and service”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

I like to start say that i love the porthouse tapas bar but recently i visit this place saturday night, the restaurant was full and we wait for our table.
Once seat we try to order a few drink for start but no waiter seems to be free to take our order. After 30 minutes finally we got our sangria that taste so different from other brunch of port house.
We order few tapas and the food quality and presentation went down really bad.
The burger was very hard, foie gras burnt, patatoes not cooked properly.
End of the night we ask the waiter for the bill and even if we left 3/4 of the food in the plate no question were made.
We eat in dundrum and temple bar very often and we will go there again but not in south william again.
Just hope the manager take same action to get food & service up to the other 2 place

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonydublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cosy restaurant with average tapas”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We've eaten here a few times. The restaurant is cosy and unique with the candle light and cave style. There is a very wide selection of tapas but on our last few visits we've found that the standard of taste and presentation has slipped. We ordered patatas bravas (sp?) and there was very little sauce on them. The meat and cheese board was average but a lot of the cheeses were very similar, no real variety there. The foie gras burger was very dry. This restaurant is fine for a quick bite to eat if you're stuck.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Port House also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Port House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing