We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“malcolm_l_macleod”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Mere Zou - CLOSED

La Mere Zou
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $111
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: A few yards away from the Shelbourne, the Conrad and the Fitzwilliam hotel, La Mère Zou was opened in 1994 and specializes in Classic French Cuisine; we also offer a large selection of fish and seafood selected directly from the local fishmarket. At La Mère Zou you can relax in a warm, familial atmosphere while enjoying the very best in cuisine and service. Our unique decor and simple seasonal food have made us a byword for fine dining in the centre of Dublin.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“malcolm_l_macleod”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Have visited this restaurant many times over the years when on holiday in Dublin.The restaurant is
a delight to visit. Recently on a two day trip we enjoyed excellent lunches on both days. We enjoyed the starters, ,and the steak was cooked exactly as requested. The creme brulee was a sheer delight. We will return, frequently to a restaurant that serves quality food, well presented and prepared, with excellent service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank malcolm_l_macleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    144
    31
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Must go to place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

This place serves what is possibly the best chicken I ever had. The starter and the dessert were amazing too. Good wine selection. Only problem were the staff that had mixed up one of the orders, this is unacceptable for a restaurant of this standing. So 4 stars instead of 5, but definitely must go to place if you want to have a very decent French dinner in Dublin.

Helpful?
Thank Katharina S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“big disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

the scallops were overcooked and all dry, the beef likewise, needed to return to kitchen, got replaced and a bit better. So much noise about this "good, French restaurant" - what a disappointment. Will not go again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Synnove190462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not to be missed - first class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

This was my second visit to La Mere Zou and both were excellent. excellent food, wonderful ambience and first class service. The atmosphere is relaxed, the menu imaginative and the wine list offers a good selection. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good comfort food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Went to try la mere Zou as part of the dine in Dublin week, €30 for 3 courses was a very good price for this restaurant. Razor clam starter, gratin dauphinoise and chocolate desert were very good. I think there should have been a choice for vegetarians even just for starter, they had a French onion soup on as a special it could have been easily added. Despite this I would return, crowd were a little old 50s 60s so was a subdued atmosphere, staff were extremely nice and attentive .

Helpful?
Thank Purplefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mere Zou also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing