We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“French gem in Dublin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Mere Zou - CLOSED

La Mere Zou
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $111
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: A few yards away from the Shelbourne, the Conrad and the Fitzwilliam hotel, La Mère Zou was opened in 1994 and specializes in Classic French Cuisine; we also offer a large selection of fish and seafood selected directly from the local fishmarket. At La Mère Zou you can relax in a warm, familial atmosphere while enjoying the very best in cuisine and service. Our unique decor and simple seasonal food have made us a byword for fine dining in the centre of Dublin.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“French gem in Dublin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a superb restaurant. The cuisine is french. the menu is refreshed every six months.#The staff are courteous and usually French, lending to a very atmospheric dining experience. The decor is intimate and the price range is moderate. Early Birds and specials make for a very flexible expense.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    144
    31
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best in class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Best quality dressed half lobster in Dublin and terrific value at a supplement of just €6 on the two course lunch price of €20. Great wines to match. Delicious coffee gourmand to finish.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maybole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A RETURN VISIT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We ate here last year during our visit to the Dublin Horse Show, the restaurant is on St Stephens Green in the midst of some other very good restaurants, the view from the outside gives the impression of being well worth giving it a try, its French style food with a good menu and a fine wine list I personally had the French onion soup which was the best that I have ever had and picked the Rib eye with garlic butter served on a timber board and cooked to perfection there are specials on every night, the atmosphere is perfect and it has that sort of good feeling factor in fact we went there twice during our stay, we will be back next year.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food service and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We tried to book yesterday and only had voicemail They both called and emailed today to appologise and explain yesterday was an Irish Bank Holiday. So we booked today and could not have been more pleased The food was simple but great. Sauces just right - not too strong or too weak. Portion sizes elegant rather than too much. Ingredients perfect. Very attentive caring service and smart location - the opposite of Temple Bar. If we're ever back in Dublin we would re-visit and recommend to friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RobinDesBoisBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“La Mere Zou Dublin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Many restaurants market themselves as being French but may fail in providing either genuine French "ambience" or even French cuisine. La Mere Zou on Dublin's St. Stephen's Green is a real gem and ticks all the boxes.
Situated below street level this restaurant is a a real find and well worth a visit. For visitors or Dubliners alike, La Mere Zou offers genuine French food using the best of Irish and French ingredients, crafted by a talented team of chefs and served by real French staff with the gift of the Irish charm.
It can be pricey but if you stick to the specials and don't go mad with the wonderful wine list it is eminently affordable for that special occasion. Lunch offers a great opportunity to sample the marvellous food at very reasonable prices. I have been going to La Mere Zou for many years and, yes you have guessed it, it is one of my favourite bijou restaurants in the world.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Farrocious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mere Zou also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing