We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“TRES BIEN!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Mere Zou - CLOSED

La Mere Zou
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $111
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: A few yards away from the Shelbourne, the Conrad and the Fitzwilliam hotel, La Mère Zou was opened in 1994 and specializes in Classic French Cuisine; we also offer a large selection of fish and seafood selected directly from the local fishmarket. At La Mère Zou you can relax in a warm, familial atmosphere while enjoying the very best in cuisine and service. Our unique decor and simple seasonal food have made us a byword for fine dining in the centre of Dublin.
ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“TRES BIEN!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

What a cosy and atmospheric little restaurant! It's in an excellent location, right on St. Stephen's Green, perfect for going out for drinks after the meal.

The staff were fluent in French and very welcoming and attentive. We chose from the early bird menu, 3 courses for 26euro which was good. I had the duck starters which I have to admit I didn't really like that much. The cod, chorizo and egg for main was delicious! As was the trio of icecream and sorbet for dessert.

The only downside was that the wine list was quite expensive, in our opinion. The house wine was around 27/8 euro. I'd definitely recommend this restaurant though.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IrelandCat87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    145
    31
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little piece of France in the heart of Dublin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Authentic, fresh, beautifully presented real French food - the staff are fluent in French, a bit of the French experience if you're not planning on making it that far. Nicely tucked away it can get crowded at weekends so make sure to book a table in advance.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CiaraRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubrovnik, Croatia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“French without tears”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is the best restaurant in Dublin, and has been a consistent success since I first visited it in 1994, when it opened. At that time, few Dublin restaurants were in the phone book, as it took over a year to get an entry, by which time they had closed down. Zou has been consistently good value for excellent French cooking (better than most provincial French restaurants) and is entirely French staffed, including waitresses. Service knocks spots off anything in the same square mile.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pre Rugby Lunch - Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Excellent all round, reasonable wine, beautifully presented food, steaks melt in the mouth and fantastic service!

Will be back, many thanks!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben6162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Always good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

One of my favourite places to eat in Dublin. The lunch and early bird menus are excellent value, and the wine of the month is also worth trying. It's also nice to be able to share a carafe of wine when you're not in the mood for a full bottle. It's far better value for money than other, more 'upmarket' places close by and is consistently excellent. I have never had a bad meal here and will remain a loyal customer.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lustyhussy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mere Zou also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing