We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'A Little Gem'”
Review of La Mere Zou - CLOSED

La Mere Zou
Price range: $35 - $111
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: A few yards away from the Shelbourne, the Conrad and the Fitzwilliam hotel, La Mère Zou was opened in 1994 and specializes in Classic French Cuisine; we also offer a large selection of fish and seafood selected directly from the local fishmarket. At La Mère Zou you can relax in a warm, familial atmosphere while enjoying the very best in cuisine and service. Our unique decor and simple seasonal food have made us a byword for fine dining in the centre of Dublin.
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“'A Little Gem'”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My other half and I booked for lunch on the 5th and what an enjoyable experience it was. Fantastic food,buzzy atmosphere and excellent service. As a vegetarian and considering it's a French restaurant, I felt my menu choices were really good. My other half enjoyed the goats cheese starter, a perfectly cooked medium steak and we both finished off with a cheeseboard which worked so well with the very good house red wine. We will be back soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tweetybirddublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    144
    31
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Great staff, amazing food. They really know how to cook meat and the wine selection was wonderful. We eat out a lot and both me and my boyfriend enjoyed ourselves very much.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank W0lfette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk Ireland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A little bit of France on the Green!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We became aware of this restaurant through buying a "Rewarding Times" voucher from the Irish Times newspaper and used it yesterday at lunchtime. What a delightful experience! The food was superb. We both had a delicious fish soup starter (perfect on a chilly early Autumn day) and then I had the best Duck Confit I have eaten outside of Paris.The deserts were innovative and scrumptious ( a Pumpkin Cheese cake!) Overall we were very impressed by the classy French style food,the friendly staff and general ambience. We will definetely return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerry&Ros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My Mum who lives in Belgium has dined here numerous times previously and decided to bring me here for lunch. Everything was absolutely perfect, from the lovely friendly staff to the best steak I've had in a long time. The set lunch menu is excellent - good variation and exceptional value. I look forward to coming back for an evening meal soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CiaraMc1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Another gem on Stephen's Green.”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Just had lunch there with my other half today 10 Oct. We had a three course lunch with a carafe of the house wine. The food was really lovely. Prepared and presented in the french style. My wife had chicken and I had rib eye steak...both lovely. I had a french cheeseboard to finish and my wife had a selection of sorbets. We finished up with coffee. Overall a very good dining experience and can understand why it is so highly rated. Well done to the team.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank unigis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mere Zou also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing