We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Culinary oasis in Dublin City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Mere Zou - CLOSED

La Mere Zou
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $111
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: A few yards away from the Shelbourne, the Conrad and the Fitzwilliam hotel, La Mère Zou was opened in 1994 and specializes in Classic French Cuisine; we also offer a large selection of fish and seafood selected directly from the local fishmarket. At La Mère Zou you can relax in a warm, familial atmosphere while enjoying the very best in cuisine and service. Our unique decor and simple seasonal food have made us a byword for fine dining in the centre of Dublin.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
282 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Culinary oasis in Dublin City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

This intimate French restaurant in Dublin's city centre is a real treasure. My wife and I have been lunch regulars for years. We have never ever had a problem and we have nothing but praise for the establishment and the very high standards of service, cuisine and wine. And desserts are divine. That basically says it all.

La Mere Zou does what it sets out to do very well indeed and the standard is consistently high. As a result the place is very popular with the locals like ourselves so don't forget to book in advance. The wines are especially good. My favourite is the Julianas, a cru de Beaujolais of excellent character and quality: and it is great value at the modest prices the restaurant charges. But the house wines are above average in quality also.

There is always a varied choice on the menu and the specials, again at a modest supplement, are worth looking at. Sometimes you have to struggle to read what's on the blackboard, but, hey, who cares when you get to my age!. Look out for the French Onion Soup, simply delicious! And, when they are on the menu, the scallops. But really when all is said and done, everything the restaurant presents is delicious. And, by the way, the staff are warm, courteous, caring and very friendly. My advice. Don't go at all, unless you are willing to come back for more!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gretry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at La Mere Zou, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
From Eric Tydgadt, Owner of La mere Zou: Thank you for your very appreciated and generous comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    145
    31
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
432 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Fine Dining in St Stephen's Green”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

I've eaten here three times now and it never disappoints. Good for both Business purposes and also romantic occasion's.

The place itself is located in the ground floor of a wonderful Georgian Building on St Stephen's so its very convenient for the Merrion,Conrad,Fitz-William and the Shelbourne.

Although the food has always been splendid I do like their use of local,Irish ingredients in the Menu. French with an Irish twist and well done to them for it.

My suggestion is to book ,as its not an enormous place, to make sure you get a decent table.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trwilbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at La Mere Zou, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
From Eric Tydgadt, Owner of La mere Zou: Thank you for your comments, and yes it is always advisable to book. this can be done via our website: http://www.lamerezou.ie/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent early bird”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

a good choice of vrey tasty food served professionally by pleasant staff who knew which dish was ordered by each person when it was served to table ,no asking who had what

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neb1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at La Mere Zou, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
From Eric Tydgadt, Owner of La mere Zou: Thank you for your very welcome review! Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great French Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

This is a lovely small french restaurant with everything just as it should be. The food was great, the staff were friendly and polite and the service was professional.

The menu is concise but it caters for pretty much every taste; you can be a little adventurous or conservative as you wish. The table d'hote is excellent value and we would've chosen from it except we wanted the john dory with langoustine risotto (for me) and the magret (for himself). However, the the a la carte isn't necessary expenive. I'd consider it midrange but the quality of food is definitely superior compared to similar restaurants. The wine list is extensive and caters for all budgets.

Without a doubt this place is definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank intrepidlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at La Mere Zou, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
From Eric Tydgadt, Owner of La mere Zou: Thank you for your very welcome comments, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best French restaurant in Dublin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

The menu here is always quite limited, but each and every item is superb. It is the best French restaurant in Dublin, and very reasonably priced. Tables might be a little close together for intimate conversation, but they are trying to separate them. Excellent.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank GerryKHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at La Mere Zou, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
From Eric Tydgadt, Owner of La mere Zou: Thank you for your very welcome review; don't forget that we have an extensive range of specials on our blackboards everyday and these can be substituted into our early bird menu too. So the range of dishes is really very large.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mere Zou also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing