We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Italian food!”
Review of Cafe Topolis

Cafe Topolis
Ranked #145 of 2,558 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $28
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: Located in the heart of the city center, next door to Dublin's City Hall and serves its guests with a wide variety of mouth-watering Italian cuisine. All of the pizzas at Cafe Topolis are cooked in the traditional wood burning pizza oven. A wood fired pizza oven cooks your pizza better than a normal oven because of the heat it stores in its dense walls.Due to its shape, the oven disperses the heat very evenly which ensure the pizza is perfect when it arrives at your table. If you're going out for lunch, then you can get a great lunch at Cafe Topolis from €8.95.The early bird menu starts at 3pm and offers a great set meal from €14.95.
Larkspur, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian food!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We went in for dinner with our daughter, her friend, and friend's family so we were a party of 6. We did not have a reservation but they accommodated us within minutes after we arrived at 7:30pm. while we were visiting them. Everyone loved their dinners. My appetizer had mushrooms potatoes and cheese layered and baked and was fantastic! The pesto drizzle was just perfect and not over whelming. The pizza was good, the ricola salad and Parmesan was crisp and tender, the salmon was cooked well, too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    176
    24
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Didn't meet expectations”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We tried this restaurant after we have read so many comments about the so called "great pizza" that they make in this place. Well, the pizza was tasteless, really poor quality of the ingredients and the dough didn't seem at all cooked in a wooden fire oven. If you go to Italy this is the quality of a pizza you eat in any fast food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fabio86_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Great wood fired oven baken pizza. Sometimes gets very busy, but if you avoid the usual busy times, its a nice place to relax and enjoy dinner.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Really great pizzas, authentically cooked, and great value”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We dropped into this pizza place by accident, but that first experience was so good we've been back several times. There's a great value two-course lunch during the day, and the evening meals are pretty reasonable too. The wine's good, as are the puddings. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanielSellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
196 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal, great ambience!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful meal here at a very reasonable price!! We did not make reservations and didn't have a problem getting a table on a Friday evening... they also have about 15 or more tables in the basement dining room. There was a nice mix of clientele the night we visited.

Service was prompt and very friendly. We both started out with their homemade minestrone soup... some of the best I've ever had! Beware, it's a large serving! My husband then had a pizza, made from scratch to order and cooked in their wood burning stove, it was delicious! I had chargrilled chicken Diavola, to die for, and what we really appreciated was that the pizza maker watched as we were having our soup to make sure that he didn't start too early and that the pizza would only be ready when WE were ready, and not a moment before! There were a few tables of people who were lingering forever over wine or coffee, and it seemed fine with the staff, no one hurried them off! They also set up for a group of about 16 or more, who arrived as we were leaving. Many of the staff seemed to speak Italian, so we were guessing that it was a very authentic place. The entire experience here was just great! I would definitely visit again when we are back in Dublin!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kargalvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Topolis also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Cafe Topolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing