We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply good”
Review of The Unicorn

The Unicorn
Ranked #326 of 2,558 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: The Unicorn is Dublin's oldest and favourite Italian restaurant. Under new owner and team, the Unicorn is now providing an exciting blend of modern Italian cuisine fused with the best of the classical regional dishes. Committed to Italian cuisine the restaurant has probably Dublin's best selection of Italian wines. In its own private laneway, the Unicorn offers the ideal secluded and tranquil location for a business or personal lunch and dinner. So join us for the best Italian cooking in the Dublin.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
236 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Simply good”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Unicorn is a charming little restaurant set in an alley serving basic, genuine and excellent food. The antipasti and pasta I had was excellent, the servings generous and the prices very fair. This is truly value for money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mschr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    89
    34
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Classic Italian in a pricey neighborhood.”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We made our reservation based on frommer's guide reviews. Our conceirge at the Shelbourne discouraged us from eating there due to a change in ownership and previous financial issues. We decided to see for ourselves. So glad we did! It was delicious classic Italian food. Think chicken Parm etc. the service was excellent. The prices reasonable.

Check it out for a good meal and good value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTravelBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Anniversary Dinner”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We chose this for our anniversary dinner and it did not disappoint. Location was close to where we were staying and have seen it in a few of the guide books so knew it would be a safe choice.

Staff were friendly and accommodating, we were shown to our seats and offered the wine menu immediately. We tasted a couple of wines before making our decision, red to go with the steak we both wanted!

Wine was good, and our starters excellent. The scallops I had were absolutely divine, I absolutely recommend them as they were lush, and my husband had salmon which he enjoyed. Our main was fillet steak served with mushroom, onions and chips. Was so delicious! My only (tiny) criticism is that there was just a bit too much salt on the chips for me, I would have preferred it without. But other than that it was absolutely perfect.

We didn't have any dessert as we were wonderfully full with all of the good food! The staff were really nice and chatty, and the atmosphere of the place was lovely...dimmed lights, candles lit and upbeat but gentle background music playing.

All in all, a wonderful evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorythy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My unicorn experience”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

After arriving to the restaurant under-dressed and with no reservation the matradee was very accommodating in finding us a table.We were told that the table would be needed in just over 90 minutes, however we were not rushed in eating our meal. We were put beside the patio door and the staff had no problems in closing is for us.

We meals we had were very good which we really enjoyed. The staff were extremely friendly and the service I think was excellent. I would recommend it to a friend

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theginganinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfection in Dublin”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The restraunt was recommended by our hosts at Number 31. We dined on a Friday evening -- the restraunt was crowded but we did not have to wait long for our table reservation. We enjoyed sitting at the bar in the meantime talking to the bartendera and enjoying some great bubbly. The food is outstanding and the three course meals a great value. Loved the beet salad and steak lovers raved about the steak, gnocci was outstanding as well. Good value, beautiful little place and good service. Also a great wine list!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jgibbs15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Unicorn also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Unicorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing