We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit of Italy in Downtown Dublin !”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Unicorn

The Unicorn
Ranked #337 of 2,547 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: The Unicorn is Dublin's oldest and favourite Italian restaurant. Under new owner and team, the Unicorn is now providing an exciting blend of modern Italian cuisine fused with the best of the classical regional dishes. Committed to Italian cuisine the restaurant has probably Dublin's best selection of Italian wines. In its own private laneway, the Unicorn offers the ideal secluded and tranquil location for a business or personal lunch and dinner. So join us for the best Italian cooking in the Dublin.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A bit of Italy in Downtown Dublin !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

After 12 days in Ireland, attempting to play golf, my buddies and I were spending our last night in Ireland, and wanted to find a charming restaurant to relax and enjoy a great meal. Italian food, just made it more special after a week of Irish Fare. What a find, great décor, great atmosphere, service with a real smile, and the food was great!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    86
    33
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service, delicious food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Welcoming and attentive service. Tasty food and lovely wine. Anti pasta sharing platters, 5 fillet steaks and 1 spaghetti, crème brûlée, tiramisu & ice cream.
Great atmosphere - the place was buzzing!
Only little gripe was biscuit served with orange creme brûlée wasn't fresh :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolinemaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Charming little restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely night out. Very friendly service, charming decoration. We enjoied an excellent three course menu with wine and coffee for less than 80 Eur.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald_Schreiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“awesome food, impeccable service and quirky cocktails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had the pleasure of dining in this charming Restaurant on Thursday night, we arrived and where seated at the bar while our table was reset. The Bartender greeted us with a cheery good evening and a smile which we noticed was on the faces of all the staff. My wife was looking for something a little different to drink the bartender asked which spirit my wife liked she said vodka but not a sweet cocktail.
He immediately started to make what my wife described as the most flavoursome cocktail she had tasted in quite some time, the bartender seemed very knowledgeable and kept talking duri while preparing the drink with a few witty puns thrown in I think the cocktail was a grapefruit sour which he said was a new cocktail on there up coming list. I had a beer which was ice cold something that I find very hard to get in bars now.
The food was awesome we both started with the salmon starter which was lovely we both had a steak which was cooked to perfection and served with a little bit of glamour by our red haired waitress who was friendly but not to much in your face we just finished with with coffees over all this is a restaurant we will surely visit again.
we seen no manager but we didn't need one as it was just perfect I cant remember the names of our server or bartender but please keep up the good work as I think you are wonderful assets to the company.

regards
Sean

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sean k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We went on an incredibly busy, hot Friday night and yet had a great evening due to the efforts of the owner and his staff. This restaurant is clearly very popular but seems determined to continue to go the extra mile. The food was excellent and good value and the service attentive in spite of the restaurant being packed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Unicorn also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Unicorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing