We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Pub”
Review of Toner's

Toner's
Ranked #461 of 2,571 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Situated on Baggot Street at the corner of Roger's Lane, Toner's is one of Dublin's oldest and most famous traditional pubs. The interior contributes much to a lively and friendly atmosphere
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
385 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Classic Pub”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Great historic pub on one of Dublins most famous streets. Cozy snugs would have incredible tales from years gone by if they could speak. Great Irish beverages and servers star here.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank laser20814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    28
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
302 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“A Dublin institution”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

One of the first pubs, if not the first pub, I socialised in with work when I first started working in Dublin.

It was and remains the quintessential Dublin pub. The main bar is dark with stained wood and panelling.

Upstairs is a brighter second bar, which can be used for events and parties. Put down a 60 EUR deposit and you can hire it for free.

Out the back is Toners newest attraction. One of the best beer gardens in Dublin. Now there is no bar, but there is a team of floor staff that do table service. The last part of my hen party was in here and the staff served us well, very well indeed.

I definitely recommend Toners. A Dublin institution.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Snug”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We were a big group arriving on a Saturday after a wedding and the barmen were fantastic ... Looked after us all evening and despite our 'merriment' were very patient with us. Made a point of thanking us for our business at the end of a long day. Been back a few times since and the lads in the bar are always very welcoming .. Thanks a million, Great pint too!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ozilisagunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good authentic pub”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I have been going here for years. It's a great pub, not fussy and no loud music etc. Good crowd and bar staff.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Endecot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burley in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Craic'ing bar”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

This is the kind of pub that the Irish Chain pubs purport to be...but this is the real McCoy. Great service, great beers and stout. Excellent atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BurleyBoy-XLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toner's also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Toner's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing