We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stag's Head

Stag's Head
Ranked #136 of 2,545 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: South City Centre
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Lovely pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Small, welcoming and fantastic decor! Lovely bar moments away from Temple Bar. Very traditional with great service, and pours a perfect Guinness!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    110
    22
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
98 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Crowded but great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Typical overpriced Guiness - two floors and a wonderful historic building... the original windows on the ground floor are amazing. Way too many people in there, it was beyond shoulder to shoulder. Even with the crush of the crowd, our barkeep was friendly and efficient. Would go back!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank WoodysMom1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

This was our fist pub we visited in Dublin. It was our daughter's 18th Birthday and her first pint of Guinness. It was awesome! I believe the very friendly blondes name was Lisa, she was very helpful with any questions we had about touring the city. We came in another time at night and the place is very relaxed and comfortable. A great pub to visit for a drink or two!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
412 reviews
363 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Bacon & Cabbage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

First visited this atmospheric classic Victorian pub around 1999. Been 4 or 5 years since my last visit so popped in for a few pints to get back into character. Decided to have a late lunch while the rugby was on - good move as the bacon & cabbage was fantastic!. About 10.95 euros for a massive plate of smoked bacon loin, lovely creamy mash & piles of buttery savoy cabbage, all seasoned to perfection. An Irish pub classic for sure, but a cut above what you get in most places & even better than I remember from my last visit. Hit the spot & some. Brilliant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We found the Stag's Head one of our first days and purposefully went back another for drinks and a meal. We were not disappointed. The service was good; the food and drinks were great. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mary884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stag's Head also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Stag's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing