We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“For a real Dublin pub experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stag's Head

Stag's Head
Ranked #146 of 2,456 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Dublin
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“For a real Dublin pub experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Met work colleagues here during the week for drinks before going to dinner. It's a beautiful building and has an authentic atmosphere. The service is truly excellent. After 45 minutes the barman still remembered that one of my friends wanted a slice of lemon &lime in her G&T- very impressive. They are very professional- you are under no pressure to buy drink until you are ready, they don't shake an empty glass at you but they were really quick when you are ready to order. There is just the right amount of banter. Definitely a 'real' place to visit when in Dublin.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Issy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    107
    22
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good pub lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Stag's Head was very peaceful at lunchtime. Ok, it was a Monday but I was a bit hesitant at first as I thought it might be terribly crowded. Staff is fantastic and I had a wonderful creamy seafood chowder with nice fresh bread, washed down with a glass of excellent Galway Hooker craft beer that they have on tap. they also have lovely staied glass windows.
I'd definitely go back!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ssirpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“1st bar we stopped in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stag's Head was the first place we stopped in because they were having a comedy show in the basement. We got there right on time and it was PACKED. Stood there for a little while before the show and then decided to go back upstairs to sit and drink. Bartenders were great and very friendly, even when we ordered a drink they didnt know. Thanks for the fun evening!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank marcuswilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio, Usa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Friendly and attentive bar staff, busy later in the night but still found a spot to sit, great location

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Quintessential Dublin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

If you want a taste of Dublin, go to this pub. It's a bit tight and tends to be crowded, but it's an irish pub - what do you expect. Great beers, great atmosphere. Could have stayed for many more hours than I did.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joshua J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stag's Head also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Stag's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing