We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business Dinner”

Shanahan's on The Green
Ranked #211 of 2,545 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $54 - $109
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: American Style Steakhouse and Seafood Restaurant featuring Certified Irish Angus beef and the freshest seafood and produce from Ireland's local bounty. Shanahan's ethos is simple and sophisticated. Your experience begins upon arrival. Enjoy an aperitif in the Oval Office bar. Take a moment to inspect the impressive collection of memorabilia adorning the walls. Each item commemorates the U.S. Presidents with an Irish connection or ancestry. Marvel at the bar's centrepiece, JFK's rocking chair from Air Force One. Dining in Shanahan's is a delight. The elegance of the food and service, is maintained in perfect harmony with the warmth, which personifies the Shanahan's team.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Business Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

I've been to Shanahan's a number of times and can highly recommend it, the food is excellent and the bar downstairs has the best range of Irish Whiskey I have ever seen, well worth a visit. The bar staff are second to none. If you're just going for a nice romantic evening be prepared to spend some money but it is VERY worth it, hard to beat the atmosphere, service and food + the bar is a gem and has to be experienced. Get talking to the guys behind the bar, very engaging and great craic

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    137
    66
    38
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LA, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bad - Very bad considering the Price.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Visiting from New York City so used to expensive restaurants with attitude but we are happy to pay if worth it. This comes in at over $400 and is not worth it.
Special occasion dinner for 2 - staff have definite attitude and unwilling to tailor to the guest (most expensive NYC restaurants will).
Bar downstairs is nice and is best part : restaurant decor uninspiring, service average, food only OK and not worth it. You expect a transcendent dining experience for $400 - not here. Do not expect to return.

Helpful?
4 Thank WLVCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Steak we have ever eaten.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Last night we had dinner in Shanahan's to celebrate a special occasion. The fillets were outstanding and served with foie gras. I think I will remember the flavour for a very long time.

The breads served before the meal were delicious, wisely we didn't eat too much. We ordered 2 sides, salad and mushrooms. The mushrooms were a great choice, loads of flavour. Though very hungry before we dined, we had loads in the main course and opted out of the desert order. Last night's dinner was one of the best meals I've ever had, and most definitely the best steak. The service was fabulous, very professional but not overly stuffy. Great wine, fabulous food, great service and very atmospheric. Worth the treat! I loved the idea of the chef serving the steaks, great touch. If you are looking for something special, Shanahan's is the place. Everyone we met from the lady on reception, the chef, the waiters and the lady on the phone who took the booking were so nice and friendly as well as professional.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“a treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Four of us had the early bird dinner 50e a head , was well worth it , the ambeience and decor , lovely background music , staff were very polite and helpfull , food was fab , would recommend to anyone , will go back soon thankyou . .

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ang m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
216 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Anniversary treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Booked Shanahans for our 3rd Anniversary. Was very much looking forward to the trip and wasn't disappointed. Prices are high but as a treat it is well worth it. Didn't have a starter. was served 2 loaves of bread. a chess bread and a chilli muffin. Both were extremely tasty. ordered 2 fillet minion , hash browns and root veg for sides. my advice is order 2 hash browns. I'm addicted. and then split a desert. The desert was a little bit of a let down but we were quite full at this point.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanahan's on The Green also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Shanahan's on The Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing