We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE BEST !”

Shanahan's on The Green
Ranked #216 of 2,543 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $55 - $109
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: American Style Steakhouse and Seafood Restaurant featuring Certified Irish Angus beef and the freshest seafood and produce from Ireland's local bounty. Shanahan's ethos is simple and sophisticated. Your experience begins upon arrival. Enjoy an aperitif in the Oval Office bar. Take a moment to inspect the impressive collection of memorabilia adorning the walls. Each item commemorates the U.S. Presidents with an Irish connection or ancestry. Marvel at the bar's centrepiece, JFK's rocking chair from Air Force One. Dining in Shanahan's is a delight. The elegance of the food and service, is maintained in perfect harmony with the warmth, which personifies the Shanahan's team.
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“THE BEST !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

THE BEST ! We were treated like royalty ! What a truly fortunate treat to meet the owner of Shanahan's on the Green Restaurant and his sister in Laguna Beach almost 6 years ago. Simply said it is the VERY BEST in service, food, wine, dinning experience we've ever had !!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susan0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    138
    66
    38
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

This was my best dining experience in Dublin. The food was amazing and the service was very attentive but discreet. I loved all the little touches, the warm bread just out of the oven, the petit four and the tea served with lovely honey and lemon. It was my husband's birthday and they made him feel special. Hope to be back soon!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allegria84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Mothers Day.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

FANTASTIC.
Best steak ever,recommend whipped potatoes and cauliflower,the latter amazing.Very expensive but worth it.
Bill not helped by alcohol consumed! Staff helpful and friendly,did not feel rushed.
Small bar downstairs before dinner,cosy and worth visiting before dinner.
TREAT YOURSELF you won't regret it. Make reservation.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jquig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I went to Shanahans recently for an anniversary dinner with my wife. We booked the table the night beforehand and when asked we mentioned that it was for an anniversary.

The food was top notch, as would be expected here. It is expensive but you do get what you pay for in terms of service and quality.

We did order dessert and when that arrived they also brought out a complimentary little bowl of homemade fudge and two glasses of Prosecco/Cava (I don't recall which). It was a nice touch by them and helped make a special occasion a little more memorable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank q547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
256 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Oval Office.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Shanahan's is excellent. The food and service really are very good. By all means, make a point to come early so you can sit and have a drink in the bar downstairs: the Oval Office. It is an oasis.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LAHust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanahan's on The Green also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Shanahan's on The Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing