We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bleeding awful”
Review of Bleeding Horse

Bleeding Horse
Ranked #168 of 2,570 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“bleeding awful”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Avoid at all costs. Visited on a Friday evening and would urge you not to waste your time. Pizza arrived with the wrong toppings and tasted of nothing. My other halfs meal never arrived. After a couple of slices of replicator pizza with still non sign of the other meal we cut our losses. When we were leaving we were told there had been a mix up. Poor food, worse customer service

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank tracy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    192
    49
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
1 review
“The Bleeding Horse”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The Bleeding Horse, located on Camden Street, Dublin, is a pub originated back to the 17th century. The pub is probably just as vibrant as it was 200 years ago, when it drew the attention of several great writers, such as James Joyce who mentioned it in his famous work, Ulysses.

Although the sound level was a bit load, (probably because we visited it in the time around Super Bowl) the atmosphere could make anyone feel at home. The pub reaches over several floors with different interior, the upper floors have less leg space than the lower ones, so if you like to stretch out your feet you should settle down at a table on the first floor.

At our visit to the Bleeding Horse we ate burgers, even though the burgers were a little dry they are preferable over McDonalds because of the fact that you are able to see the bits of onion and meat incorporated in the burger. All the burgers also come with fried potato sticks, and a great tomato-chilli sauce.

All in all the Bleeding Horse is worth a visit, if not for the food for the great atmosphere and a lovely, foamy Guinness.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oda-Kristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“V good”
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Went in 2 watch the match and get something to eat the staff were great and the food was very good a good pint also very nice Irish pub will b back

Helpful?
Thank docdamien1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ya stop by for a pint”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Great atmosphere and you have to try their Steak and Guinness pie, excellent!! It was right beside the hotel I stayed at so not far to visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GaryN1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
123 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Okay, at best”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The location is next door to the Camden Court Hotel, a short walk from Dublin Center. It's a large, multi-level bar - more like a bar in the U.S. than an Irish pub. Many large screen TVs so we asked whether the NFL playoff games would be televised. Yes they would be - but then we were warned - "We close at 12:30 AM regardless of how long is left in the game. We don't care what the score is or how important the game - when the clock reads 12:30 AM the TVs go off and it will be time for you to go." With that attitude, he was right - it was time for us to go and we did - to the Woolshed Baa.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JMCurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bleeding Horse also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Bleeding Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing