We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Orchid Sichuan

Orchid Sichuan
Ranked #1,066 of 2,543 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

My family and I had a meal here last Saturday. Waiting staff were very friendly and attentive and the food, although a little overpriced, was delicious. We were seated in a nice warm corner of the restaurant beside a radiator but half way through our meal, the heating was switched off and the air conditioning was switched and we felt quite cold. We told the staff that we were cold but it was some time before they switched off the air conditioning and by this time we were shivering with the cold. Before we left the restaurant, my husband went upstairs to use the rest rooms and he recommended that we shouldn’t use them as they left a lot to be desired. Such a pity because the decor in the restaurant was impeccable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erins-Isle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    20
    7
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Donegal
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Very Central if staying in Ballsbridge good food the rice was a bit overcooked the beef greasy great service and very polite

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank donegaltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
181 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very good but waiters need training”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

This is among my favourite restaurants for food . The food remains very good & early bird menu is good price. However the 'young waiter' was not trained properly for such a good restaurant. He constantly served people by stretching across people in front of others at the table. I did ,of course, mention it to him as quietly as I could that it was not correct . Also, prior to booking I looked up Internet to see latest time for the early bird & got different times at latest 7.30 pm ; 7pm & finally 6.30 pm ! When I phoned I was advised it was 6.30 pm latest which meant I had to phone around friends etc. All of these these shoudl be taken care of by the manager .

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank biggestjohn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
“Too expensive for average food.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

We called in there early on a Monday and as expected the place was empty and a lttle forboding as a result. The food was average and much too expensive. I would not recommend it especially as there are some go restaurants nearby. Someone needs to tell them that there is a recession on !

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Burrowk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
261 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“ITIt is too expensive..,,”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

Just back in my hotel from dinner for one in the Orchid. I had a craving for a " good curry". When I ordered, the waiter just smiled. It was the "house special. When it arrived it was " average take away standard". With 2 glasses of house wine and a pot of Chinese tea, the bill was € 38, crazy prices for very average " take away" food. I will not be back. They need to cop on..... Oh was there a VAT increase? These prices get the country a bad name.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orchid Sichuan also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Orchid Sichuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing