We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Dublin.”
Review of One Pico

One Pico
Reserve with OpenTable
One Pico is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #102 of 2,596 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: Just off of St Stephen's Green One Pico is one of Dublin's hottest dining destinations. But with acclaimed chef Eammon O'Reilly at the helm and a number of accolades including; "2010 Dublin Chef of The Year" by The Irish Restaurant Awards, but most importantly (in our opinion) a Toptable Gold award. One Pico isn't all about fashion and being seen in the latest hot spot. Exceptionally good service is the ideal accompaniment to stunning modern classic food all beautifully prepared on the premises and a simple, sophisticated décor where intimacy is guaranteed. A monthly changing menu ensures you'll never grow bored of One Pico's impressive seasonal cooking with its homely Irish twist.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of the best in Dublin.”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Mitchelin standard food and service in a relaxed atmosphere with very attentive staff. We had a troublesome AC unit near our table and were immediately moved to a better position with no fuss.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Eam77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    139
    59
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food, Great presentation.”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Was here just before Christmas for dinner, very reasonable priced and the food punches well above the price you are paying.

To start I had the beetroot and goats cheese, this was a very nice dish, could probably do with the addition of a fruit. My wife had the mushroom and celeriac veloute, this was a very very good dish, I have to say I was jealous after tasting.
For mains I had the steak, this was perfectly cooked, my wife had the pork belly and again this was a very tasty dish. For desert I had the orange and coriander soufflé, bit worried about the coriander but it was very subtle and this was a excellent dish. My wife had the Walnut & Banana Financier, again this was an excellent and well presented dish, wasn’t on the set menu but we were accommodated with no fuss.

I felt the waiter service could go up a notch; def. would get it to 1 star level’s if it did.
Front of house was great, we ordered fries and were informed they weren’t available that night, instead we would be given a complementary selection of veg and potatoes, this kind of touch really sets it above other restaurants in its price category. In retrospect the veg, especially the beetroot, was the way we should have gone anyway given how nice it was.
Went with a recommended wine, it was very nice so kudos to the sommelier.

All in all I will def. go back and will be making this a regular haunt in 2013.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JurKal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good food, so-so service”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had a business meal for ten of us here in December. The food was solid and enjoyable enough, though not particularly memorable. I would have expected more for the 65 Euros plus supplements price tag. Some of the waiters were very good and friendly but a couple of them seemed to have an attitude about something. Not sure why, but suffice to say overall the service didn't exactly radiate the famous Irish welcome.

This is a safe bet for a corporate dinner that will do the job without offending. If I was spending my own money I might go back - but I can also think of better places in Dublin for the price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RJMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Michelin star food without the price tag”
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Six of us ate here and booked an early table at 18:00. The food was superb easily as good as some of the Michelin star restaurants we have eaten in in Dublin. There was no rush and the atmosphere was very friendly and relaxed. I would recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RobinVHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

A group of 10 of us came here on a Friday evening for a colleague's farewell dinner. It was an impressive evening. We were given a comfortable table at the back of the room - the restaurant looks deceptively small from the outside, but though the room is big, it feels like a much smaller and more comfortable dining room. Put it this way - it's designed to make you linger. As atmosphere's go, though the restaurant was quite busy, the waiters obviously got their training from a mother superior somewhere because they glide about the place like quiet nuns - though at times it's a bit disconcerting when they loom at your elbow and you haven't seen or heard them coming! To the food - we had the Christmas menu which at 65 euros a head excluding wine was on the more expensive side, but oh, the food! Given our number, most dishes on the menu were tried. The presentation was exquisite - and the combination of foods and tastes, though some a bit more adventurous for some palates, was great. Starters of langoustine risotto, crab salad, seared fois gras - any of which could be reduced to the humdrum - were mini works of art as well as taste. Main courses chosen included Wicklow venison, Hot Stone Bass, seared west cork scallops and pork belly and fillet of Black Angus beef, accompanied by several small servings of new potatoes, honey roasted root veg, a gorgeous beetroot concoction. Desserts included chocolate fondant, walnut and banana financier, hazelnut praline, plum clafoutis and a selection of French and Irish cheeses. And magically our wine glasses remained full throughout. We chose a Muscadet and a Bordeaux. Other reviewers have noted that perhaps the portions are not as large as one would be perhaps accustomed to, but this isn't food for scoffing - it's food to be tasted, savoured and relished, and the service provided giving a decent length between courses reflects that. The only niggle with the whole evening was that when we had clearly finished and our conversation had dwindled, the servers' telepathy failed and we struggled a little to get attention so we could settle the bill. But other than that, we had a great time, we were well looked after and it is a definite 'must come back soon'. Can't praise the quality and presentation of the food enough - one of the best meals out I have had in Dublin in years

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenscribbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed One Pico also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to One Pico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing