We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish N' Chips was Just Okay”
Review of O'Neill's

O'Neill's
Ranked #551 of 3,044 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Reviewed May 27, 2018

We love outstanding fish n' chips. Unfortunately, we didn't find it at O'Neils. It was good, mind you, but definitely not something to rave about.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ReligBookFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 147 of 2,489 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2018 via mobile

For a really popular pub I guess I was expecting better. Don't get me wrong, the food tasted good, but because it is a serve yourself style, it was cold by the time I brought it up to my table. The staff were very friendly however, and the best experience I had there was speaking to the super knowledge bartender about whiskeys. I would advise to go there for a drink and maybe a desert, but not so much for dinner

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank chantal l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2018

O'Neill's came highly recommended to us by the tour guide on the walking tour we had taken earlier in the day, so we decided to give it a try for dinner. I did enjoy my dinner, but was definitely underwhelmed after the build up that the tour guide gave the place. Everything was cafeteria style, so we stood in line to order our meals. We had kind of a hard time finding a clean table at which to eat, as many tables were sitting with dirty dishes on them. By the time we finally found seats (and I had wiped the table myself) our food was less than hot. It did taste good and I would have enjoyed it much more had it been hot. There was a bar right near our table and we wanted to order drinks but nobody ever turned up to tend that bar, and at no time during our meal did we ever see a server from whom we could order drinks. It was decent but I don't think I would rush back.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 5678Cooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2018

O'Neills is a unique with its cafeteria food, great pub scene and music. However, the night we were there, it was crowded with young people talking at the top of their voices drowning out the musicians. I guess the place is just too popular.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank claudeo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2018

We were recommended to this place by the guide on one of our tours when we told him we were nterested in a good lamb meal. The meals are served cafeteria style with a tray and you tell the server what you want. We had the leg of lamb and side dishes of cabbage and mashed potatoes. Simple but absolutely delicious and reasonable. And we had a Guinness from the tap right at the end of the service line where you pay. This is a good meal and a good value.

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank mpear49480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Neill's also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to O'Neill's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing