We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Excellent"”

O’Connells Restaurant
Ranked #178 of 2,617 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $51
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: O'Connells Restaurant in Donnybrook, Dublin is run and established by husband and wife Tom and Annette O'Connell. Their vision is to create a 'home away from home' Irish Brasserie with a focus on having a 90% gluten-free menu. We use the best of Irish produce, with contemporary cooking and an insistence on value for money. All diners welcome whether popping in for a steaming pot supper on your way home to providing a setting for your treasured family occasions to providing a slice of the best of Irish hospitality for visitors to our city!
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Excellent"”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Visited this restaurant on Tuesday, my husband and I had a wonderful dinner. The food is so tasty. Staff friendly and efficent. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BywaysDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    115
    46
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Disappointment”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The food was excellent, but the service we received was terrible. Our waiter seemed out of sorts, and we were made to feel that we were an imposition. Perhaps it was because we were only two; we noticed that larger tables received much more attention. Although the food quality was very good, we did feel it was overpriced.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oconnells, Owner at O’Connells Restaurant, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Patricia G,
Thank you for taking the time to review O'Connells. It is very disappointing to read your comments about inattentive and un-caring service. I hasten to apologise. We are a family run restaurant and many of our staff are with us for years - we aspire to be far better than you describe. Please be assured that we will be very aware of your experience and correct ourselves immediately.
My renewed personal apologies,
Tom O'Connell, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Recently brought my niece and nephew for lunch post graduation ceremony from UCD.
From the outset we were treated very well and the staff went above and beyond the call of duty to help us celebrate the day.
The food was gorgeous,and everything was spot on.Its hard to please the young ones but my nephew announced that it was the best curry he has ever had. My niece reported that her roast beef was the nearest she has had to her grandma's which is extremely
high praise from a very fussy eater.
The food has a home cooked feel but home cooked to the highest standard. We loved it.
I will be bringing people there for lunch again especially if I know they are fussy or hard to please because O Connells would be in my opinion impossible to fault.
Thank you for a great lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 5fiona66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food, great staff, lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We received a warm welcome from the woman in charge no reservation no problem 7pm on a Monday night. Restaurant was not full but was busy with a film crew working in one corner.

Your starter is served from a hot and cold buffet very tasty Spanish and Italian sausage, olives, salads, pâté, puff pastry with chicken and mushrooms. Main course belly of pork for me and hake for my guest lovely the veg were fantastic cabbage julienned and tossed in butter, and great potatoes. Little pots for desserts choc for him pear and almond for me (one serving between two).

About €60 including glass of wine and 2 cokes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarianR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Superb food - reasonable price”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Ate at the bar the 1st night superb curry and melt in the mouth steak. Friendly service by everyone who served us - even the owner joined in.

So good we returned the next night and they remembered we'd been the day before, and even that we'd eaten at the bar. But this time we went for the "early bird" menu in the main restaurant. If anything even better, and HORS D’OEUVRE APPETIZER BUFFET is simply to die for. Great wines served too.

All in all a superb start to our holiday in Ireland.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Altraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O’Connells Restaurant also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to O’Connells Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing