We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cosy little pub...”
Review of McDaid's

McDaid's
Ranked #665 of 2,573 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A cosy little pub...”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I highly recommend popping in here for a few drinks in the evening time. It's quite a small place so I wouldn't come here with a big group, unless it's early in the day. Great decor and relaxed atmosphere make for a pleasant pint of Guinness.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    31
    7
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greystones
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I start any night out in town with a pint of plain here. Grand old shop, unspoilt, and the best pint of Guinness around. Enjoy.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Con C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luck, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“This Is A Pub....”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

As per my other reviews in Dublin City on folks confusing Pubs, Bars, and night spots; This is a pub, and a damn good one. The locals will not communicate with you here unless hard pressed or drunk, that is the first step to a great Irish city pub. The walls stink of a forlorn legacy yet the expectations you feel based upon those very wall hangings lead one to a good night of banter and drink. Pints with the unknown who tread the city with those who were known is the feel here, No one cares about you when you're a tourist, and if you are unlucky you will just end up with other tourists. If you pierce the veil... that means you have information from somewhere else... knowledge gained is the ploy, I have yet to encounter a bad pint or a bad dude here.

This place is great. Its real.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicopernicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Probably the best pub in Dublin?”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

McDaids is a trip back in time to when Dubliners stopped off on their way home for a pint of plain ( Guinness ) and a Jemi ( Jameson Whiskey ). I was born in Baggot St just down the road, more years ago than I would care to remember, and a visit hear brings me back to the Dublin I knew and Loved. Fantastic Pints of stout, atmosphere and staff.
A tip to our friends from abroad, say hello to an Irish person in a pub and you might never shut us up.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liam1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Historic pub”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Very good Guinness here. Cosy on a cold October evening. Very busy. Bar staff friendly, even to us tourists.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McDaid's also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to McDaid's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing