We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic service, great value early bird”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Green Hen

The Green Hen
Ranked #140 of 2,547 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $46
Cuisines: French, Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, great value early bird”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Without a reservation on Wednesday evening last, we were lucky to get a table. It was my first visit but definitely will not be my last. The room was warm and welcoming and we were seated near enough to the bar. I had salmon and crab rolls for starter and delicately cooked chicken for main. The cherry trifle was a first for me and the cherries were perfectly ripe and plentiful. It was delicicious. Service was extremely pleasant and attentive, leaving a feeling of wanting to return. Will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martha047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    283
    100
    45
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DUBLIN
Level Contributor
95 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely athmosphere food ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Visited week before Christmas so bad time to judge a restaurant as very busy and a big turnover on tables which is always annoying. Food pretty good but nothing fantastic - I will give it another try at a less busy time as I have heard great things about the food. Toilets not great - downstairs beside kitchen which is always a bit off putting. Staff friendly but continiosly told us when they would need the table back!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank gubnait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
246 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Poor portion size”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Had lunch with my wife and son and we were seated upstairs which I must say was really nice. Linen table cloths and nice and bright. Starters were ok and two mains, chicken and burger were fairly good but the shell fish and sea food bouillabaisse was really poor, the taste was ok but I counted 6 mussels and two pieces of white fish.
Overall it was a really good value meal apart from the fish and my wife felt it necessary to share her chicken with me as my dish was such a small portion.
Just give me a little more please......

Helpful?
Thank Poxyeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food, staff, ok venue.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The food and staff were very friendly and helpful. Cocktails were ok, you can get nicer elsewhere. The seating plan is odd and the chairs & tables aren't comfortable enough. Food was yummy though. I would go back but I there are so many others to choose from in the locality I would be slow to return..

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lindaob84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“early bird excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

great value casual dining in a lovely setting..
pleasant staff....excellent food and well priced wine..
will be back

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nudgernaas o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Hen also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Green Hen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing