We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best chipper in Dublin”
Review of Leo Burdock's

Leo Burdock's
Ranked #299 of 2,596 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: South City Centre
County Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The best chipper in Dublin”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is an institution, 100 years old today and its not hard to understand why it goes from strength to strength. Fabulous chips and great fish with no-nonsense. I would have given it a 5 star rating if I had not been to Jack Jordans in Galway which just beats it because of its fabulous, light batter but that's just a personal preference and the fact is Leo's is the King of fish and chips in Dublin. Do yourself a favour, get a take-away here and (weather permitting) eat it in St Patrick's Park just around the corner. You'll feel like you've won the lottery.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Westynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    256
    154
    77
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oh my Potatoes!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Wow. First thing's first.
The amount of chips this place dishes out is insane! In a good way, of course. The thick-cut chips flood the plate, spilling their golden goodness everywhere. Even though they were so good, I couldn't even eat half the amount!
The fish was also good. A little too under seasoned for my liking, but after a nice douse of salt and vinegar, they weren't bad. Plus, the price isn't bad for all the food you get.
The service was fast and friendly.
I would come here again, especially if I was in the mood to eat what is basically all you can eat chips, as I don't know if anybody could finish off all of them.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex England
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
“Just a bag of chips but exceptional”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Sometimes there's a moment when a bag of chips is all that is needed after having a Guinness in a nearby bar. Normally, I would not review just a bag of chips but this was the best tasting ever in my whole lifetime. Proper chip shop fries not french fries, all air and no potato they are. It came with a smart box, freshly cooked and with plastic forks. Five star experience wrapped in a bag of chips. Alongside exotic fare, everyone should try this.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travellerforpleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fish & Chips Mecca!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

If you are looking for a great traditional fish & chips...this is your spot! Wicked small, no place to eat onsite, and a line out the door. They have a sign outside that lists the "celebrities" that have visited (including Justin Timberlake's parents....haha!).

They have a very basic menu with an unassuming storefront. The food was specacular and way more than one human could possibly consume.

When you stop by, get your grub, and go to the church around the corner where there are picnic tables to enjoy your food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I went 3 times for a quick meal. Friendly staff and delicious. Try the smoked fish for something different. Great value for location in temple bar area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leo Burdock's also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Leo Burdock's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing