We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Imaginative food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Ecrivain

L'Ecrivain
Ranked #202 of 2,529 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Geneva
Level Contributor
339 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Imaginative food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

On a recent trip to Dublin, we decided to dine at the l ‘Ecrivian, we ate there during our last visit 6 months ago.
As our previous visit the place was very busy and well appointed, there is a downstairs bar/lounge. The dining is upstairs on two levels, with a room on one side, the main dining area and a mezzanine.
The service was attentive and informative. The food was of a very good standard, the chef manages to marry some interesting flavours together. Portion sizes are on the small side, even a la carte. The only negative I would mention is the fact the dishes on offer (if my memory serves me correctly) are practically the same as the last time we ate there. I would therefore be reluctant to return for a third time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    133
    73
    32
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We went there for my birthday. It was excellent and it has a wonderful atmosphere. The food was amazing - everything we ordered was excellent. The staff were so friendly and the service was great.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank neddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value Groupon deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We went for the taster menu because we had a Groupon voucher, dinner for 2 for €65 - excellent value. The food was fab and the service was excellent. Even though we were not paying full price, we were not made feel any less important. We had a Spanish Rioja wine which was very very good, First time there and would definately go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eitne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
237 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Every Dinner feels like a special occasion at L'Ecrivain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Visited L'Ecrivain recently for a special occasion dinner having not been for a while. This restaurant, run by husband and wife team Derry and SallyAnne Clarke is one of Dublin's best fine dining restaurants and we are always accorded a warm welcome. The main restaurant is upstairs and there is also a mezzanine dining level, as well as a spacious terrace. Apertifs or post dinner drinks can be enjoyed in the downstairs lounge. The restaurant offers a tasting menu (which is always fabulous) but on this occasion, we chose from the A La Carte and consulted with the resident Sommelier, Martina, in relation to our wine. Martina is a walking encyclopedia on the grape and invariably points us to the perfect wine to match our food selections - not always the most expensive, just the best match! While every dish receives the Michelin star touch, the emphasis is very much about showcasing the best of seasonal and Irish food. As on every occasion that we have eaten at L'Ecrivain, we left feeling happy in body and soul!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fine dining but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We enjoyed our dinner here on our last night in Ireland. Variety, quality were first rate and the service was very good. Our location was not the greatest in a small room with recorded music that was too loud (finally turned it down). Prices are high and sine and spirits seemed over priced.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pieter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Ecrivain also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to L'Ecrivain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing