We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some good, some bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jewel in the Crown

Jewel in the Crown
Ranked #625 of 2,526 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Some good, some bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

The food was quite nice. I had the Chicken Tikka and rather enjoyed it. That's about all this place offers - reasonably nice food.

The service was slow and apathetic, bordering on contemptuous. It took 40 minutes to get our meal despite the place only being about 1/3 full. They were impolite and topped it off by shortchanging us.

My advice to the owners, if you ever read these reviews, take note of how so many say the same thing.
1) Hire some new staff or train your staff how to do their job properly
2) Get better kitchen staff, a bigger kitchen, or whatever else it takes to get customers' food to them in a reasonable time
Then, you may approach becoming a place that people actually enjoy and recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    75
    45
    9
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good food, but very slow service and noisy place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

I am not an expert in Indian food, but I generally like it very much, and this time it was no exception. The food was nice indian + tandoori, with some excellent dishes and some "just good" ones. However, the place was crowded and our table was a few centimeters from the next one, which did not allow us to enjoy our meal. The service was extremely slow and it was very hard to catch their attention. Also, it was extremely noisy. It's a good choice if the place is not full or you do not mind a noisy, slow meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank crisbcn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
258 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Worth a Try”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

This little restaurant just off of Grafton street deserves a try, in fact, I visited it twice in one week. The restauratn is very small and never seemed to be packed (possibly due to proximity of other Indian restaurtants nearby), which was nice because it was quite and allowed the service to focus on my needs. The food was very good, but did not change my life. Still, I liked it more than enough to go back. The menu was broad and included all the Indian classics that you would expect and was reaonably price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RPH80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buochs, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Really good Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

This restaurant is one of my favourites in Dublin, and we go to eat there every time we're in town. Usually for dinner, this time we went there to have lunch. And I can recommend it, as the quality of the food for lunch does not differ from the dinner food - ok, it's a smaller selection, but you get great quality for an absolut fair price. My starter was Chicken Tikka, which was juicy with a great taste, and the main course was Chicken Jalfrezi - very good Chicken in a rich sauce - fantastic. You don't have to go there for a special service, it's just enough. My personal highlight: they use a trolley to serve the food, it must be the same trolley since 1996, as it looks... ;-))

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Schawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yum (great for Vegetarians)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Food was lovely Great deal on and there was a family there i overheard say they are vegetarians and it was the best they had eating out!
Couldn't finish my meal so filling but lovely!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tasha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jewel in the Crown also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Jewel in the Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing