We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy and with beautiful food”

Il Posto Restaurant
Ranked #232 of 2,591 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $69
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Il Posto is a relaxed and modern Italian Mediterranean Restaurant on Dublin's St. Stephen's Green. The restaurant's appeal lies in it's natural warmth and charm, offering regulars and newcomers an atmosphere that would make you feel like you are dining in the heart of Milan or Rome. Il Posto offers an intimate and elegant setting with an informal family atmosphere, sumptuous food and excellent service
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Classy and with beautiful food”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I ate an evening meal in this restaurant during a business trip to Ireland. The Theatre Menu was very good value, from which I chose lamb's liver which was one of the nicest plates of offal I've ever had! Dessert choices were a little more limiting but still good. Service was prompt, which was especially welcome as we had a plane to catch. A good choice.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank John-frae-Banff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    121
    51
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great little Italian restaurant, superb carbonara!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We decided to choose the first restaurant we liked the menu of after leaving The Shelbourne Hotel and this lovely welcoming little Italian appeared - what a find it was. On Tuesday's & Wednesday's they allow you to bring your own wine for free (we did this). The food was superb and the waitresses engaging & helpful. The Carbonara was superb - Five stars!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
879 reviews
743 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
“An Adequate Lunch”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

It may be unfair to judge a restaurant solely on the basis of one lunch. On one of those rare sunny days in Ireland, the small number of outside tables were taken, so we headed down the steps into a fairly lean dining room that might have been more inviting in winter. With an important dinner in the evening, we opted for a main course and dessert.

My wife and I both had pasta, she the carbonara and I a spaghettini bolognese. The dishes were ok, but nothing to write home about., Pasta is such an essential part of any Italian family, ristorante or trattoria that when the pasta isn't exceptional you feel let down. It is a long way to Italy from St. Stephen's Green even if Andrea Bocelli had a couple of nice meals here.

We might give them another try in the evening, when there is a more extensive menu.

Kudos for the home made ice cream (not gelati) and sorbet. The banana and mango flavors, respectively were quite good.

I didn't take a long look at the wine list. A couple of glasses of Chianti at 7 Euros per were of good quality.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ulysses4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A great find!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Located near Graphton Street, near the Shelbourne Hotel...on North Street. Yummy, yummy food! Nice Chianti wine. Small, simple place but very nice. It was busy when we visited. If you like lemons, try the Lemon Pot dessert!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SJC_travel_gang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Small, stylish Italian”
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Visited Il Posto on a Saturday night in May. It is a small, stylish restaurant in a basement on the East side of St Stephen's Green. The food was very good quality, and the prices were reasonable for central Dublin. Staff were friendly and attentive and had no problem changing a corked bottle of wine. Nice table linen and glasses. Wine list is small but well chosen and the coffee is good quality. Will visit again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Posto Restaurant also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Il Posto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing