We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice people watching spot”

Grogan's Castle Lounge
Ranked #630 of 2,573 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice people watching spot”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We enjoyed a drink on the outside terrace on bank holiday Monday. Nice lady serving. The pub was really quiet. The choice of wine was "red or white" and the sandwiches looked like circa 1980 such a pity they don't try pull in more customers with better food. Still it was a great spot for people watching

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew164580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    22
    10
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely ignorant bar staff”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

I visited this busy pub in Dublin on the 10/12/2011. I found two members of the bar staff extremely ignorant. Please in the future when a paying customer has an issue with a member of staff the polite way to settle the problem is to simply apologise. I will not return to this establishment. There are plenty of other pubs in Dublin with polite staff.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
258 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Lovably Gross”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Grogan's is one of those old places that never seems to change...and probably never will. Some people love it, some people hate it. I'm somewhere in the middle. I really like the idea of Grogan's but it doesn't quite do it for me.

It's a good place to people watch and enjoy a nice beer, but it's not the sort of place I'd recommend spending very long at. Sometimes I get itchy thinking about that carpeting. But, the art for sale on the walls is very cool!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecojojo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Grogans Castle lounge - avoid if possible”
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Really rude staff at night, old man pub during the day. Just a run down bar with not much to offer unless you like stale disgusting toasted sandwiches. Plenty of better old man pubs like the long hall, swan, devitts and many more. Really found the staff so bad would never recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank guinnesstime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great pints and toasties”
Reviewed June 8, 2010

can't beat a lazy Sunday knockin back pints and having a toastie at grogans. Always comfortably full and you always seem to find a seat. The price of a pint is the only sticky thing now thought, so many other pubs have dropped the price of a pint but Grogans hasn't.. I hope they do soon as you can easily get a pint for 50p less elsewhere

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CanuckinDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grogan's Castle Lounge also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Grogan's Castle Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing