We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very tasty!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Boxty House

The Boxty House
Ranked #84 of 2,543 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $27
Cuisines: Seafood, Irish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our restaurant has been at the beating heart of a dynamic, contemporary community for over 25 years. Our customers experience a genuine taste of modern Ireland, full of eclectic talking points and the warmth of that country kitchen down the west. Today, our restaurant caters for up to 2000 local and international customers a week. The relaxed, warm atmosphere provides a natural habitat for conversation to flow easily and to share stories. Come join us in the heart of Temple Bar, and discover what it means to be Irish. Totally Irish.
Great Missenden
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very tasty!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We went here, because of a recommendation on here! its didn't disappoint. We had the foresight to book a table when we walked past Saturday afternoon-which was a good job, because they were packed!
we started with the bacon ribs and the boxty platter. both exceptional! the bacon ribs are a must for any pork/bacon/ribs fan! and the boxty platter introduces any new boxty eater to the variations on offer!
we then continued our boxty journey with the chicken and leek boxty and the beef boxty. the beef boxty has to be one of the tastiest, juiciest, tenderest pieces of meat I have had in a long time. so so so good!!!
We were served by martin, who was the right amount of attentive and friendly, that he added to our experience.
Thanks! we'll be back, when we return to Dublin! Yum!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emzbarbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hi emzbarbz,
we're really happy you listened to whoever recommended us and that we were able to live up to your expectations too.
Sounds like you got to try out lots of our famous dishes and was shown some real Irish hospitality by Martin. Thanks for taking the time to review us and for sharing some great photos of our dishes.

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,014
    1,262
    321
    100
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A brilliantly hosted night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Went to Boxty for a birthday meal for my best mates 30th, from the word go we were treated brilliantly by the lovely waiter Fin (Fionnbhar). The restuarant is pretty intumate which made for done really great concersations with other visitirs to the restuarant. Fin made such an effort to make us welcome, advise is in the best dishes and have a great evening. My friend even got a complimentary birthday desert. Both fin and thd manager were really approachable and seemed like they gad a lot of time for all the customers! The food and drink were amazing, good quality produce at a reasonable price for Dublin Central. Brilliant evening, thanks to the staff for their time and effort to make our night amazing!

Helpful?
1 Thank JennieYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you Jennie for such a wonderful review and for choosing The Boxty House as the place to celebrate your friends birthday.

You guys were a pleasure to serve and we are really happy everything went so well.
Great to hear Fionnbhar was able to make you guys feel so at home,
you are all more than welcome for a great night and hopefully we will see you guys again for more celebratory dinners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Had a great mean at the Boxty house. The Gaelic boxty and the cottage pie were fabulous after a day of sightseeing. It took awhile to get seated even though there were empty tables, but would definitely recommend it for a solid well priced meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ktimmons001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hi ktimmons001,
great to hear we were able get you a table after your long day around the city.
Thanks a million for the recommendation, glad you enjoyed your meal so much.
Hopefully we will see you next time you visit Dublin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth your time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

While from the outside it might seem a bit plane it's inside the menu that this place excels. The prices are fair and the desserts are amazing. Do yourself a favor and pop in for a quick nip, you won't be disappointed. The wait staff were friendly, out going and warm. Food was fresh and put a unique twist on traditional favorites.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike_mcconahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Hi Mike,
really glad to hear you gave us a shot and enjoyed every minute of it.
Thanks a million for recommending us to others and for taking the time to share your experience,
it's much appreciated, hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veliky Novgorod, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were lucky to visit this place on a weekday, something around 1 pm, so it was rather quiet.
Excellent food, atmospheric interior and good music. Chicken boxty and cheesecake were absolutely delicious.
And I'd like to say special thanks to Fionnbhar, our waiter, who made us feel very welcome.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Hi Marina,
Glad to hear you enjoyed everything so much and think we deserve a 5 star review, thanks a million it is very much appreciated from all the team at The Boxty House especially Fionnbhar.
Hopefully we will see you for dinner very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boxty House also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Boxty House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing