We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food -- Excellent staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boxty House

The Boxty House
Ranked #85 of 2,394 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: Seafood, Irish, Bar, Gluten Free Options
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Our restaurant has been at the beating heart of a dynamic, contemporary community for over 25 years. Our customers experience a genuine taste of modern Ireland, full of eclectic talking points and the warmth of that country kitchen down the west. Today, our restaurant caters for up to 2000 local and international customers a week. The relaxed, warm atmosphere provides a natural habitat for conversation to flow easily and to share stories. Come join us in the heart of Temple Bar, and discover what it means to be Irish. Totally Irish.
Memphis
Level Contributor
158 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great food -- Excellent staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Booked a reservation in advance based on Tripadvisor reviews. Not a huge place and plenty busy so glad we had a reservation. Easy to find in Temple Bar. We were seated in the front bar-area dining area...only about 5-6 tables in that section. Food was good, fresh, inventive. What made our meal was our server, Martin. Quite the personality and refreshingly honest. Good food, inventive combinations. 1 starter, 3 entrees, 2 beers and 3 desserts....right at 90 Euro total. Lots of people there so you know the food is fresh and good. We left feeling that we had surely made the right choice....Martin made us feel at home. Will return if I'm ever in Dublin again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SMcBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hi and thanks for the great review!!!
Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal so much and Martin was able to add to the experience! We really hope you return to Dublin soon and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,761
    1,092
    287
    87
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The perfect Dublin experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived in Dublin and our group had Gallagher Stew, Murphy Stew and Boxty pancakes. It was very tasty and the service was outstanding. A must place to eat!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hrachinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hi Hrachinski!
Thanks for the wonderful recommendation, so glad you and your friends choose the Boxty House as your first dining destination in Dublin and that you enjoyed the food so much. Perhaps we will see you guys again for your last supper in Dublin?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Irish Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We ate here based on the recommendation of our hotel. There are good Irish dishes here for a pretty decent price.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank HappyTrails2U100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hi HappyTrails2U100!
We are happy you took your hotels advice and got to experience some traditional dishes in The Boxty House. Thanks a million for taking the time to review us, we hope you had a great trip to Ireland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

It's a hopping place and you'll likely need reservations, but they're worth it. The food is delicious, the beer is cold, and the servers are a lot of fun. If you are looking for a true Irish pub experience that is family friendly, this is the place for you. I particularly recommend the pick your own stew platter or the corned beef. The Bailey's ice cream was delicious, too. My only advice for the chef would be to keep the basil out of the apple pie. Other than that, 5 stars.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hi Tom,
thanks a million for recommending us to others, we were happy to read that you enjoyed your meal so much. Your comments about the dessert are much appreciated as that is a fairly new addition to our menu, we love to receive feedback and listen to our customers.

Thanks again, hopefully we will see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Change from a pub & good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We loved our dinner and waiter! Mike was so nice and helped us with what to order. We started with a sampling appetizer that included a Boxty (pancake). My husband had a selection of beers, we enjoyed the lamb stew and lamb burger. Dessert of bread pudding with rum raisin icecream and sauce was tasty as well. It was a change from all the pubs in the area, very friendly, good service and tasty food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hi Irene,
great to read that you and your husband experienced a real Irish meal along with Irish hospitality while on your holidays. Sounds like you both really enjoyed the food, so if you would like to try and cook up some Irish Stew or Boxtys when you get home please check out our video recipes on our website. We would love to hear how you get on. Unfortunately we won't be able to share Mike with you though!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boxty House also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Boxty House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing