We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Irish food in the heart of Temple Bar area”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Boxty House

The Boxty House
Ranked #84 of 2,543 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $27
Cuisines: Seafood, Irish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our restaurant has been at the beating heart of a dynamic, contemporary community for over 25 years. Our customers experience a genuine taste of modern Ireland, full of eclectic talking points and the warmth of that country kitchen down the west. Today, our restaurant caters for up to 2000 local and international customers a week. The relaxed, warm atmosphere provides a natural habitat for conversation to flow easily and to share stories. Come join us in the heart of Temple Bar, and discover what it means to be Irish. Totally Irish.
Cambridge England
Level Contributor
231 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Great Irish food in the heart of Temple Bar area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Didn't book but managed to get in on a crowded Thursday night. Excellent Irish food, really helpful staff. Only complaint was that we ate too much but of course that was self inflicted. Good value about 35 euros a head including drink and tip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bridgemagoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Hi and thank you for taking the time to share your experience of The Boxty House with others, We are so pleased that we were able to accommodate you and that you had such a great evening with us. If your only complaint was that you ate too much because it was so good then we can live with that!!! I hope you plan on returning again for another feast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,754 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,020
    1,264
    323
    100
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I eat here every time we come to Dublin. We love the Gaelic Boxty, Chicken Boxty, and the Corned beef. Staff is always friendly. Food is fresh and delicious. Eat early to miss the crowds.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole78374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
hi Nicole,
Sounds like you have become a regular guest to the boxty house and for that we are truly appreciative. We are just so happy that we are able to continuously provide a great experience for you. Please let us know when you plan on returning and don't hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do to make your next visit even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hands Down, Best Meal in Dublin.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

The food and the service was phenomenal. My (now) husband and I had our wedding rehearsal dinner here the night before our wedding. We booked our reservations for 40 people from TX over emails, needless to say, we were nervous that come the day of the dinner our reservation would just 'disappear' or we would have to wait to be seated - we couldn't have been more wrong. Our emailed reservation was intact, and they had the whole downstairs reserved for us. We probably tried every dish that was on their set menu, and each one was outstanding. Do not miss this place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelsThere753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi Amanda!
Congratulations and we hope the wedding in Clontarf was just as good as the rehearsal!
It would be great to see you guys return for an anniversary dinner some year!

Your party were an absolute pleasure to serve and we really appreciate you taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. The team at The Boxty House wish you guys all the best for your future together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Suprise in Twmple Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Came here on the recommedation of the locals. I had the Guinness sausages. They were spectacular!!! They did not serve Guinness. Which I would imagine would've against the law in Ireland but never the less the Beamish I could highly recommend! My partner had the 3 stew combo and they were also delicious. A good option in Temple bar if you want something diffferent. The service was also good!

Helpful?
Thank Travelora
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi Travelora,
we are so happy to read that you were pleasantly surprised with your trip to Temple Bar!

As you noticed we do not serve Guinness however we do offer our customers a very good selection of Irish stouts and craft beers. We like to offer something a little different and have made sure that all the beers we serve are of a very high standard and just as tasty!

We are delighted you enjoyed yourself so much and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food! A Fun Evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Four of us enjoyed a great dinner at Gallagher's Boxty House on May 27. Although we were early for our reservations, we were seated quickly and warmly. Our waiter was very friendly, helpful, and, in fact, entertaining. We ordered a variety of items from the menu, and all were good especially the corned beef and cabbage and the platter featuring beef, irish, and seafood stews. The starters were good too. My only complaint is that the dessert featuring apple pie with basil was an ABOMINABLE insult to the apples and the ice cream. Basil and apple pie are just not a good combination. Tell the dessert chef not to experiment with a "tried and true classic". I would highly recommend this restaurant and would go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4Presleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thanks a million for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your comments and are so happy that you really enjoyed the food and service.

The apple & basil crumble is a fairly new addition to our menu and we realise that perhaps the combination of ingredients may not suit everyones taste, however, a lot of our customers LOVE it!!
Sometimes it is hard to get every menu item to suit all tastes, but we would love you to return and try one of our many other desserts, which I'm sure you will love as much as you did your meal!

Your comments have been passed onto our chef, we truly appreciate customer feedback, so thanks again for the great review. We look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boxty House also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Boxty House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing