We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant in the heart of Dublin!”
Review of The Boxty House

The Boxty House
Ranked #76 of 2,719 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $31
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Gastropub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Temple Bar
Description: Our restaurant has been at the beating heart of a dynamic, contemporary community for over 25 years. Our customers experience a genuine taste of modern Ireland, full of eclectic talking points and the warmth of that country kitchen down the west. Today, our restaurant caters for up to 2000 local and international customers a week. The relaxed, warm atmosphere provides a natural habitat for conversation to flow easily and to share stories. Come join us in the heart of Temple Bar, and discover what it means to be Irish. Totally Irish.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We went for a family lunch with my boyfriend and his mum, and it was great!
We shared a seafood platter which was gorgeous!
Then we took the Irish stew, the gaelic boxty and the free range pork boxty. The plates were huge!!! It was so good though, that we finished everything!
The food looked good, and was very tasty. The price was a bit expensive, but worthed for such good and full plates.
Our waiter was Mike, and he was the best! Very friendly with a communicative laugh :)
The place is very nice, cosy, nearly homy. I will definitely come back to try another platter and boxty.
One little thing, it's very busy at lunch time, and between people and background music it can be a bit noisy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Routarde2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thanks a million for taking the time to write us a review on Tripadvisor, delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your meal so much. We have passed on your regards to Mike, he said it was an absolute pleasure to serve you.
We really hope to see you all again in the future, and if you find the music a little loud on your next visit just mention it to your waiter who will fix it accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,685 - 2,689 of 4,457 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

We visited Boxty House on our first night in Dublin, so wanted some traditional Irish cuisine. We deffinatley chose the right place! We started off with seafood chowder and leek and potato soup, both gorgeous! Then followed with a traditional Irish stew and I had the chicken Boxty (not really knowing what Boxty was). So glad I chose this, it was beautiful! A real hearty meal, and I tried some of the stew, and the meat just melted in your mouth! We finished with the Baileys cheescake - also very scrummy! The staff in here was really nice, and very helpful when it came to deciding on where to go for a drink after our meal! Would deffinatley recommend to any one visiting Dublin!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MJG24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

We were so happy to read that we were able to give some some good quality Irish food on your first night in Dublin. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Good selection of traditional Irish food. Prices are reasonable and you can even get a €25 set menu that has a lot of the a la carte dishes on it. Go for the Boxy pancake!

Thank andrewkjones17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Thanks for recommending our Boxty so highly!
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal so much and we hope you plan on visiting again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Showed up for a late dinner around 8:30 and a table just opened up so we didn't have to wait to get a seat. My wife had the fish and chips which she liked and I ordered the 3 course menu so I started with the chowder which was alright, had the gaelic boxty as the entree which was great - the sauce was amazing, and then we shared the baileys cheesecake for dessert and that has to rank as one of the best desserts I've ever had. It's a lot lighter than your typical cheesecake and the baileys flavor and chocolate sauce was awesome. Definitely get the cheesecake for dessert if you dine here!

Thank mr_hand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review, our chef will be delighted when I tell him that you think the cheesecake is one of the best desserts you have ever tasted!!
If you would like to drop him an email at chefdavepower@gmail.com I am sure he wouldn't mind sharing his recipe with you!

We hope you and your wife get the chance to come back and visit again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We have visited Dublin numerous times now and no trip is complete without a visit to the Boxty House!! Don't let this fantastic eaterys location lure you into thinking this is just a tourist trap, it couldn't be farther from it. Once inside you are greeted by a truly authentic and cosy atmosphere which comes to life in the evening.
The menu is truly authentic with the Boxty being the stand out dish for obvious reasons. I wont ruin the surprise but these are absolutely superb and a pleasure to eat!!
The staff are very attentive and always have a smile on their face and are very welcoming.
If you can get there early enough then the early bird menu is well worth a look at and is an absolute steal given the quality of the food.
Overall a great experience and a place we will go back to time after time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AdeWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, I am very happy to read that The Boxty House has become a regular restaurant for you to visit when in Dublin, and next time you are in please ask for me so I can get the chance to thank you personally.
Padraic Og Gallagher.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boxty House also viewed

 

Been to The Boxty House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing