We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and good food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boxty House

The Boxty House
Ranked #88 of 2,529 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $27
Cuisines: Seafood, Irish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our restaurant has been at the beating heart of a dynamic, contemporary community for over 25 years. Our customers experience a genuine taste of modern Ireland, full of eclectic talking points and the warmth of that country kitchen down the west. Today, our restaurant caters for up to 2000 local and international customers a week. The relaxed, warm atmosphere provides a natural habitat for conversation to flow easily and to share stories. Come join us in the heart of Temple Bar, and discover what it means to be Irish. Totally Irish.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great service and good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Visited here on the Saturday of the easter weekend. Arrived approx 12 and were seated in the window which was good for people watching. We ate from the lunchtime special menu, I Had the lamb stew and hubby had lamb burger with mash and gravy. Both were lovely. The waiting staff were very friendly and efficient.neould recommend you visit!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LynneM306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and recommendation!
So happy to read that you enjoyed everything about your visit with us over Easter, we hope you plan on coming over and visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,986
    1,243
    317
    99
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bletchley Park
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fast, friendly and underwhelming”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We ate from the early-bird menu. The soups were good but the rest of the mains (chicken and vegetarian) were disappointing. The dessert was average. Staff was friendly and service was relatively fast.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlanMTuring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We were happy to read that our staff were able to provide you with excellent service however were very dismayed to read about your experience with our food.
Your comments have been passed onto our head chef as this is out of character for any of our dishes to be so average.
Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention, if you would like to contact me personally on pog@boxtyhouse.ie to discuss this in further please to not hesitate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere. Average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Chose to eat here after reading the good reviews on Trip advisor. Disappointed. Four in our party. We all chose to try the evening meal package 25.50 Euros for 3 courses. Good atmosphere although a little cramped. Very friendly and courteous staff. Starters ok - chowder the better choice. Two of us ate the pancakes, two of us went for the dumplings for the main. All very average. Gammon dumplings below average. Total bill came to 160 Euros with drinks. Ate at better restaurants during our week in Dublin.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank STGLNewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are extremely sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our food, please believe us when we say that this is a matter which we take very seriously indeed and if you would like to contact us further about the matter you can contact me personally at pog@boxtyhouse.ie

We are delighted that you found our staff to be so good, please believe us when we tell you that your experience with our food is very out of character for the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly service, food underwhelming”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Ate here on Easter Sunday. The restaurant was fairly quiet and we were served quickly and attentively. For starters shared the potato cakes (a little bland) and the salmon and crab tian which was passable. Mains were one salmon and one lamb boxty which were fairly substantial but rather heavy-handed and lacking in flavour. Salmon was somewhat overcooked. Not sure why this place gets rated so highly on TA.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BistroLeKelspence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Great to hear that our staff looked after you so well but we really do apologise for your experiences with our food. As you can see we do rate highly with other customers for both our service and food, so we would really love if you visited us again and let us try and change your initial impression of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Went back for more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I thought this place had character, fabulous food and friendly service. A lengthy children's menu but selected from the sides/starters for our little boy. The first night we had Mike and the warm chicken salad and boxty potato sides were delicious. We watched the staff show care and kindness to a woman who smashed her glass by accident. Yes, it is tight surroundings and you may share a big table with others but I didn't mind. We liked it so much we went back another night. I tried to order the same chicken salad starter but got a meal instead which I think was my fault and I was disappointed until I tried it! Also liked the local cider they serve. Service was just as friendly the second night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank helixbonfelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Nice to read that we were able to tick all the boxes on both your visits. We always try to give every customer the best true Irish dining experience we can. We are so proud to have great staff and dedicated chefs, but most of all our customers make the atmosphere within the restaurant what it is.
Thank you so much for your repeat custom, please let us know when you plan on returning for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boxty House also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Boxty House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing