We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional Irish Experience”
Review of The Boxty House

The Boxty House
Ranked #84 of 2,558 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: Seafood, Irish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our restaurant has been at the beating heart of a dynamic, contemporary community for over 25 years. Our customers experience a genuine taste of modern Ireland, full of eclectic talking points and the warmth of that country kitchen down the west. Today, our restaurant caters for up to 2000 local and international customers a week. The relaxed, warm atmosphere provides a natural habitat for conversation to flow easily and to share stories. Come join us in the heart of Temple Bar, and discover what it means to be Irish. Totally Irish.
Southern Shores, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Traditional Irish Experience”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My son and I had dinner in Gallagher's Boxty House and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience -
The decor was traditional and you get a great Irish experience. The waiter we had was excellent.The meal was absolutely delicious, as was the home-made bread served with it. Desert was outstanding . At 25 euros for 3 courses (get there early and it's 15 euros) in such a nice place with lovely staff, it's certainly worth a visit!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
WOW! Thank you so much for all the amazing complements. It really sounds like we were able to deliver an all round excellent dining experience for you.
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on tripadvisor,
we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,815 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,056
    1,283
    327
    101
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“visit 4/01/2013”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

2 adults and 2 children (13 and 20) went for an evening meal. All 4 of us really enjoyed it. Not sure about the authenticity of the menu ( we're English) but it it seemed right (lots of potato!) and we thought it was spot on . Excellent service (thank you David) and really good food.£100 for 4 seemed a little steep to my English wallet but we all had 3 courses, a bottle of decent wine and really enjoyed it so hey ho I should stop moaning.
Our only complaint was that we weren't staying another night so couldn't go and eat there again - we would have done.
One last thing - disability again. Went with my daughter in her wheelchair and they couldn't do enough to help - so much so they tried to do far more than we needed.
They could teach the staff of Kilmainham Gaol a thing or two.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyStott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thanks a million for the great review! Your only complaint is you didn't have enough time to visit us again before you left Dublin? We can handle that!
However, we really hope you find the time to visit us next trip.

You are right to comment on the amount of potato on our menu, The Boxty House is passionate about this little vegetable, and we are always looking at new ways to cook and prepare it while also keeping to some long established Irish traditions.

It's not only the food we are famous for, but our staff constantly make us proud through their hard work and generous natures. If any customer in the restaurant needs assistance of any kind our staff are always willing to help. Your daughter was no exception and we will pass on your kindest regards to David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food, pleasant staff and traditional decor”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My partner and I had dinner in Gallagher's Boxty House a few days ago and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience - no wonder it's recommended in so many guide books!

The decor was beautifully traditional with quality rustic furniture. The waiter we had was efficient and pleasant, and he even gave us some tips as to where we should go next to listen to live Irish music.

The chowder was absolutely delicious, as was the home-made bread served with it. Actually I ate so much of it that I struggled to go through the whole of my boxty, which was filled with a very well-cooked and large piece of fillet of beef. The mushroom sauce served with it was possibly too stodgy, but still very tasty.

The one negative point was the brownie - it was dry and not gooey enough, and it felt more like a chocolate sponge cake.

Despite this minor negative point though, at 25 euros for 3 courses in such a nice place with lovely staff, it's certainly worth a visit!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wilshak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Delighted to hear that you and your husband found almost everything about us great! We are just sorry that we couldn't have made everything about your meal a positive experience.
Your review has been passed on to the chef who is reassessing the brownie recipe, so thank you very much for bringing that to our attention.
We hope you enjoyed your stay in Dublin and that you managed to find some good live music after your meal. Hopefully you will come back and visit us in the future.
Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great lunch with cozy atmosphere.”
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Came here for a late lunch (14:30) and still had the possibility to choose from the lunch menu (until 16:00). Food was great (try the "Boxty of the day", great value for the rather small price of 8?), atmosphere and staff as well.
Disclaimer: doesn't serve Guinness, only Murphy's and Beamish.
For two, paid 29? for two main courses and two pints of beers. Definitely to recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Luca B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for recommending The Boxty House to other travellers.
We specialise in the traditional Boxty pancake that you mention and feel that this dish can be enjoyed at anytime of the day. This is why we offer it at a special price for our lunch time customers and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed yours so much.
We would love to hear which beer you decided to have and what you thought of it? We don't have anything against Guinness, we just like to offer our guests something different. We are the biggest seller of Murphy's stout in Dublin!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice meal in central location.”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Ok, so this isn't going to be a place for a romantic meal or special occasion in my opinion, but the food was great and service excellent. Billed as a traditional Irish restaurant, but its probably like saying that Hard Rock Cafe is a traditional American restaurant.
Three courses for £25.50 in the centre of a city is great value. Staff were brilliant. Atmosphere was buzzing and the fact people were queuing to get in is always a good sign!! It's on the same road as Hard Rock and TGI so there's a few places to go if you turn up and decide its not for you. It's in the heart of temple bar area.
Whether or not the food is traditional, I'm not sure, but it did taste great and I am happy to recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HatStephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor, we are always extremely interested in hearing about how our customers get on. So we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us so much, it makes all the hard work pay off!

As you said we do bill ourselves as a traditional Irish restaurant and are sorry that you didn't feel like we lived up to this description. At the restaurant our speciality dish 'boxty' has been made in Irish kitchens for centuries. In addition to boxty, Irish Stews, Corned Beef and other traditional dishes we also offer 'Sirlion Steaks', 'Hand - made Beef Burgers' & 'Smoked Chicken Salads' so we can cater for everyone's tastes. As these dishes would not be typically traditional Irish dishes they are still all sourced from the finest Irish ingredients.

Our ethos is 'Bia, Caint, Ceol agus Craic' which is translated as ' Food, Talk, Music & Good Times' and we are delighted that we could provide you with all these things!
Thanks again for taking the time to review us and recommend our restaurant. We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boxty House also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Boxty House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing