We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice meal in central location.”
Review of The Boxty House

The Boxty House
Ranked #81 of 2,571 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Gastropub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant has been at the beating heart of a dynamic, contemporary community for over 25 years. Our customers experience a genuine taste of modern Ireland, full of eclectic talking points and the warmth of that country kitchen down the west. Today, our restaurant caters for up to 2000 local and international customers a week. The relaxed, warm atmosphere provides a natural habitat for conversation to flow easily and to share stories. Come join us in the heart of Temple Bar, and discover what it means to be Irish. Totally Irish.
London, UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice meal in central location.”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Ok, so this isn't going to be a place for a romantic meal or special occasion in my opinion, but the food was great and service excellent. Billed as a traditional Irish restaurant, but its probably like saying that Hard Rock Cafe is a traditional American restaurant.
Three courses for £25.50 in the centre of a city is great value. Staff were brilliant. Atmosphere was buzzing and the fact people were queuing to get in is always a good sign!! It's on the same road as Hard Rock and TGI so there's a few places to go if you turn up and decide its not for you. It's in the heart of temple bar area.
Whether or not the food is traditional, I'm not sure, but it did taste great and I am happy to recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HatStephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor, we are always extremely interested in hearing about how our customers get on. So we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us so much, it makes all the hard work pay off!

As you said we do bill ourselves as a traditional Irish restaurant and are sorry that you didn't feel like we lived up to this description. At the restaurant our speciality dish 'boxty' has been made in Irish kitchens for centuries. In addition to boxty, Irish Stews, Corned Beef and other traditional dishes we also offer 'Sirlion Steaks', 'Hand - made Beef Burgers' & 'Smoked Chicken Salads' so we can cater for everyone's tastes. As these dishes would not be typically traditional Irish dishes they are still all sourced from the finest Irish ingredients.

Our ethos is 'Bia, Caint, Ceol agus Craic' which is translated as ' Food, Talk, Music & Good Times' and we are delighted that we could provide you with all these things!
Thanks again for taking the time to review us and recommend our restaurant. We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,889 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,103
    1,304
    330
    102
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Another fabulous faultless meal @ Gallaghers”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

this is was my 3rd visit to the boxty house and once agauin the service was firendly warm & efficaint and the food first rate.

keep it up, we will def be back and we recommend you to anybody who is visiting Dublin.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kazzyb1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
We would like to take the chance to thank you for your wonderful review.
It is always great to hear when a customer has had such a nice experience with us that they become regular advocates for the restaurant. We really hope we can continue to do what we do best in 2013. It will be an exciting year for us as we partake in The Gathering celebrations and launch our very own 'Boxty Pancake Mix'
We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunapee, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New Years' Eve 2013”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We were visiting Dublin for a week over New Years'. We first learned of Gallagher's Boxty House because it was listed in the "Dublin Pass" we had purchased. Then it was recommended by other folks staying in our hotel. We wandered over to that neighborhood around 5:30 on New Years' Eve, and although we did not have a reservation, they managed to seat us in less than 10 minutes. The food was fantastic, and enough to feed a family rather than just the two of us. Our waiter, Mike, was pleasant, helpful and full of humor. We would recommend this restaurant to anyone dining in Dublin.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
We were happy to provide you with a table, and we hope you enjoyed celebrating New Years Eve in Dublin. Hopefully all the food was enough to fuel you guys for partying late into the night!
We will pass on your regards to Mike. The Boxty House would like to wish you all the best for 2013 and looks forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great food accommodating for groups.”
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

I was in Dublin for a weekend and was left the challenge of finding a restaurant for the Saturday evening (1st December). There were 8 of us and most restaurants couldn't accommodate a group of that size at short notice. We booked a table for 9.30 and our table was ready on arrival. Pleasant environment with good quality traditional Irish food.

The group were happy with the meal.

Thanks very much. We hope to come back.

Helpful?
Thank Steve295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Delighted to hear we help you in finding a table for your party. Saturday nights are always very busy with reservations, however we do try and keep some tables free for people who haven't made one. Thanks a million for taking the time to leave such a great review on Tripadvisor. Happy New Year, we look forward to serving you and your friends again in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Superb food and a great welcome. A first clss place to dine. Friendly staff, would go back again and again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
And we hope you do become a regular visitor to the Boxty House! Great to hear we could provide you with excellent food and a warm welcome. We like to think it's what we do best.
We wish you a very happy New Year and look forward to welcoming you back in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boxty House also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Boxty House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing