We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years' Eve 2013”
Review of The Boxty House

The Boxty House
Ranked #81 of 2,570 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Gastropub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant has been at the beating heart of a dynamic, contemporary community for over 25 years. Our customers experience a genuine taste of modern Ireland, full of eclectic talking points and the warmth of that country kitchen down the west. Today, our restaurant caters for up to 2000 local and international customers a week. The relaxed, warm atmosphere provides a natural habitat for conversation to flow easily and to share stories. Come join us in the heart of Temple Bar, and discover what it means to be Irish. Totally Irish.
Sunapee, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New Years' Eve 2013”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We were visiting Dublin for a week over New Years'. We first learned of Gallagher's Boxty House because it was listed in the "Dublin Pass" we had purchased. Then it was recommended by other folks staying in our hotel. We wandered over to that neighborhood around 5:30 on New Years' Eve, and although we did not have a reservation, they managed to seat us in less than 10 minutes. The food was fantastic, and enough to feed a family rather than just the two of us. Our waiter, Mike, was pleasant, helpful and full of humor. We would recommend this restaurant to anyone dining in Dublin.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
We were happy to provide you with a table, and we hope you enjoyed celebrating New Years Eve in Dublin. Hopefully all the food was enough to fuel you guys for partying late into the night!
We will pass on your regards to Mike. The Boxty House would like to wish you all the best for 2013 and looks forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,888 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,102
    1,304
    330
    102
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great food accommodating for groups.”
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

I was in Dublin for a weekend and was left the challenge of finding a restaurant for the Saturday evening (1st December). There were 8 of us and most restaurants couldn't accommodate a group of that size at short notice. We booked a table for 9.30 and our table was ready on arrival. Pleasant environment with good quality traditional Irish food.

The group were happy with the meal.

Thanks very much. We hope to come back.

Helpful?
Thank Steve295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Delighted to hear we help you in finding a table for your party. Saturday nights are always very busy with reservations, however we do try and keep some tables free for people who haven't made one. Thanks a million for taking the time to leave such a great review on Tripadvisor. Happy New Year, we look forward to serving you and your friends again in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Superb food and a great welcome. A first clss place to dine. Friendly staff, would go back again and again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
And we hope you do become a regular visitor to the Boxty House! Great to hear we could provide you with excellent food and a warm welcome. We like to think it's what we do best.
We wish you a very happy New Year and look forward to welcoming you back in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK, London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Average Tourist Trap”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Average is what I'd describe this experience as, nothing was awful, but there were virtually no highlights to speak of

We had a boxty and the burger, which were both passable. The soda bread was a real let down, didn't seem at all fresh. Desert selection was extensive and the two we chose, apple pancake and brownie were again ok, but unremarkable

The ambience and location were the real winners

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank missslbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.
Listening to customer feedback is a very important way for us to move forward in providing our clientele with the best possible experience. Your review has been passed on to our head chef who will reassess the dishes you sampled.
We hope you come back and give us a chance to change your view of us next time you visit Dublin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Best in Dublin”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I absolutely love this place. Having spent a lot of time in Ireland and coming from an Irish family, I know how hit and miss the food can be, but they nail it everytime. The food is an excellent take on traditional Irish fayre, but they've taken away the bits about Irish cooking which weren't so good resulting in an excellent menu and a tough choice when it comes to decision time. Price wise, it is pretty good especially when you consider the location and definitely cheaper than other restuarants in the area. Atmosphere is fantastic and the staff wonderful too. Highly recommend!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank British_Tourist_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Wow! We are truly flattered by your review. To be described as 'the best in Dublin' has really put a spring in our step for the New Year. Thanks a million for recommending us so highly, have a very happy New Year. We hope you will come and visit us again in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boxty House also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Boxty House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing