We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great traditional food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Boxty House

The Boxty House
Ranked #83 of 2,543 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $27
Cuisines: Seafood, Irish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our restaurant has been at the beating heart of a dynamic, contemporary community for over 25 years. Our customers experience a genuine taste of modern Ireland, full of eclectic talking points and the warmth of that country kitchen down the west. Today, our restaurant caters for up to 2000 local and international customers a week. The relaxed, warm atmosphere provides a natural habitat for conversation to flow easily and to share stories. Come join us in the heart of Temple Bar, and discover what it means to be Irish. Totally Irish.
Belfast
Level Contributor
113 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great traditional food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Came here with a group, we were in the room downstairs which felt a bit out of the way

I felt service was a bit slow, it was an hour after we came in until we got our starters, that said, the waiter was great and couldn't have been nicer, was just under pressure

The food was great, good portions and really tasty

A good spot but could maybe do with a couple more staff

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Owner at The Boxty House, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for reviewing Gallagher's Boxty House and please accept our apologies for the delay in getting your starters. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that your waiter made your evening. When we have group bookings we always wait for all the group to arrive before placing the food order through to the kitchen. This might have led to the delay in getting your starter out as it can have a knock on effect. Again our apologies and we do hope to serve you more promptly in Gallagher's Boxty House in the near future.
Slán go foillín,
Pádraic Óg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,019
    1,264
    323
    100
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Williams, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Food & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I ate at the Boxty for a early dinner after a long day of sightseeing. The Boxty was my must eat at restaurant. We had the early bird pre fix. We both had the seafood chowder to start it was amazing. I had the chicken & Leek Boxty my husband had I believe the Irish stew. Both were delicious and the servings were huge. I could not eat most of my food neither could my husband. We finished with The Baileys Cheesecake I still crave the cheesecake. It was so light and creamy. My husband and I rolled out of the restaurant very satisfied. The service was top notch. I am so glad we were able to eat there. If you get the opportunity you must eat here. I hope to eat here again before our visit is over.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Latinacowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Nice to hear that you got to enjoy a full day of taking in all the sights Dublin has to offer, and we are delighted to hear that The Boxty House was your choice of restaurant after. We hope you find the time to visit us again.
We really appreciate you taking the time to review us on tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This is THE place to be for Irish Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

This restaurant was recommended to us by our hotel in O'Connell Street and was a fair walk away - but oh my was it worth the effort! We enjoyed it so much we went back 2 nights later. There was a bit of a wait for a table for 4 and the waiting area was a bit cramped as it was quite popular on the Friday night. We were happy to wait though and so very glad we did. We all had the Atlantic Seafood Chowder for starters which we loved and the main course was a "Boxty" which is a traditional potato pancake filled with different meats and sauces. Absolutely beautiful. The ambience was fantastic, we felt very at home, and the staff were very welcoming and couldn't do enough for you. We would definitely return again and again and would have no hesitation in recommending Gallaghers to everyone. Don't let the wait for a table put you off, it's not for long and you'd be a fool to miss it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsCSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for your review on tripadvisor, it is nice to hear that you found us to be so good that you decided to dine with us a second time! All the staff work very hard to provide every customer with a first class Boxty House dining experience.

As you pointed out it can get very bust at night time so we do recommend reserving a table with us if you wish to dine at a certain time, however if you are just passing us and happen to drop in you can leave your name and we will give you a time to come back when a table will be available.

We look forward to seeing you again, and since you enjoyed the Boxtys so much why not go to our website where you will find easy to follow videos showing you how to make boxty at home. We would love to hear how you got on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top class Irish Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

First class food and service. The service was efficient and the food arrived hot and well presented. The staff are knowledgeable and helpful. The restaurant decor is very well presented. If you are visiting Dublin, Gallagher's Boxty House should be on you list of restaurants to try before you leave.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
To be referred to as 'Top Class' really is a great complement, so thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a nice review. We are delighted to hear that our staff were able to make your visit with us enjoyable. We make the atmosphere within the Boxty House resemble an old Irish kitchen and try to echo this in our decor, food and hospitality.
Thank you again for your review and hopefully we will see you on your next visit to Dublin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chislehurst, Kent
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great food in Temple Bar area, four of us all had something different, and all great quality, I had the cashel blue cheese and mushroom dumplings, absolutely delicious, really recommended, and very good service in a lovely atmosphere.... and the beer was great too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bmaryclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us, it is much appreciated.
Great to hear that you all got to enjoy different dishes and found them all to be satisfactory. the secret ingredient in the Boxty Dumplings is grated raw potato, and when cooked and added to the blue cheese sauce we agree it's just delicious!
Hope to see you in Dublin again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boxty House also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Boxty House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing