We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wales 30 - England 3”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Doheny & Nesbitt

Doheny & Nesbitt
Ranked #54 of 2,543 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Croydon
Level Contributor
146 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Wales 30 - England 3”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

A disastrous Rugby result however at least it was watched in a brilliant atmospheric pub. If you are in Dublin and there is a big sporting event on this is the place to watch it. Actually go anyway it is a a terrific pub.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank PhilWCroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    134
    21
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Pub, Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

My son and I visited at Doheny and Nesbitt a couple of times during our visit to Dublin. The
breakfast was outstanding, a true Irish Breakfast. Quality of the food was very good. We also
had lunch there and I had Fish and Chips, which was terrific. The bar server was very very
accommodating. We had an interesting conversation with her about Powerscourt where we had been. The owner, who always has a tie on, is usually found cleaning, which is very impressive. This is our third trip to Dublin where we visited Doheny and Nesbitt. Incidentally, they stop
serving food at 3 pm. This is a pub you won't want to miss.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“" If you value your Health and Safety "”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Beware of this venue.Ive been here many times with my Partner as he loves the place.My main concern is the location of the Smokers room.This is situated within the Main Lounge,which I find truly amazing in this day and age.On a busy night Smoke wafts into the Lounge as the door is usually left open.
Also the Toilets are located two Flights downstairs.Imagine if there was a Fire on the Premises.How would these poor Unfortunates in the Toilets get out safely.
I think the Locations should be reversed and put the Smokers Underground.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tom d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
158 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Superb Pub, Mighty Atmosphere, Great Pints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Had our Christmas drinks in the snug in the back bar, fantastic night, superbly assisted by the friendly and professional staff, ably led out b manager Brendan, what a gent, great sense of humour and excellent ambassador for his iconic establishment.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanIelDMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“the irish are serving you and they do a great job”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

So many service jobs in Dublin seem to be taken by immigrants, which is a pity because the irish love to serve and give you a great experience. This is a great example its a fun pub, and the apple pie is great!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Frederika881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doheny & Nesbitt also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Doheny & Nesbitt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing