We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pre theatre dinner at Citron” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citron

Citron
Ranked #607 of 2,394 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $20 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: Citron Restaurant in one of Dublin’s hippest, Conran-designed hotels is found at the very heart of town just opposite St Stephen’s Green. On the mezzanine level overlooking the lobby, Citron has Conran’s signature elegant, minimalist luxury with a zesty lime and lemon colour scheme, softly glowing lighting, woven white bar front and dark timber floor. The ambience is Euro-bistro and the modern Mediterranean cuisine is perfectly attuned to how we eat now. Relaxed, funky, fun Citron is one of the very best spots in the city to see and be seen, a great night out starts at Citron and ends in the bar where the ambience is the best.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pre theatre dinner at Citron”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My friends and I dined here using the pre-theatre dining options. The selection was beautiful and the food was great. Very attentive service and excellent value. I recommend this restaurant very highly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Clifford B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    40
    15
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely service . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This was possibly the best of my three great experiences of this restaurant. And no: I have absolutely no connection with the place.

Once again, we went there (Thur. April 26th) on a two-for-one voucher. Unlike some venues who can barely contain a snooty sniff when you present as a voucher bearer, the greeting and the entire service are marked by a real professional warmth and attentiveness that - even following Dublin's wake-up call in recent years - can not be taken for granted in the city.

A complimentary kir royale was refreshing. While we were browsing menus, a humorous board appeared with tiny clothes line" on which hung paper-thin potato crisp slices, with a pot of garlic and chive mayonnaise dip. Then we were brought a lovely amuse-bouche of artichoke mousse and Iberico ham. Delicious.

For starters we chose hot-smoked salmon with fennel and apple salad, with a light citrus dressing and pea with chorizo and squid. Portions were, if anything, a little too generous - not a frequent complaint from my company! Mains were duck breast (with thinly sliced artichoke and other interesting accompaniments) and fillet beef which was as tender and flavoursome as only the best fillet can be. A bottle of tempranillo seemed good value at €36.

We finished with the same desserts as on a previous visit: an apple trio of crumble, puree and creme caramel with vanilla ice cream and (a really special one this) strawberry soup with basil jelly, basil ice cream and what I will describe as a mousse.

Service was impeccable throughout. Why cannot more hotel restaurants be like the Citron? If this was only a restaurant, it would be thronged nightly. Unreservedly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Capam1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I have visited Citron with my girlfriend twice: once with a menupages voucher and once for the Early Bird. On both occasions we were very impressed with the food and enjoyed some of the best service we have experienced in Dublin. The food has a Spanish twist - I understand that the Irish chef trained there - with some very unique combinations. For me, it outstrips some of our over-priced Michelin starred restaurants

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is my 2nd review for that restaurant and I think Citron deserves more attention than what it gets at the moment.. Discovered that place by chance through menupages last year and since this is one of my top list of places I will return without hesitation..
Food and services are 5stars.. We arrived 15-20mins earlier and the Maitre D' told us that our table was not ready and sent us to the bar for a cocktail/aperitif... We got both a kir royal - the barman opened a new bottle of Moet champagne to make our kir royale (champagne with blackcurrant).. We didnt know if we had to pay or not.. Nope! They were on the house :-)
Food was fabulous as usual, service absolutely great..
Will return again and is Highly Recommended...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pouty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Miles ahead of most hotel restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our first visit here came by way of a voucher through one of those special 2-for-1 offer sites. Having had a few poor experiences, we weren't terribly optimistic but we both agreed that it was way ahead of any of the other "specials". In most cases it was clear why they had to advertise. With the Citron, the only possible explanation is that they're not well known enough because of us are frightened off hotel eating by the experience of disappointing, mediocre food.

From start to finish, dinner at the Citron excelled: from friendly maitre-d' to smart, efficient, really pleasant waiting staff. There wasn't the slightest hint of the snooty attitude ("oh, you're one of the voucher people... OK... where can i put you . . .") that we encountered in two other establishments - where food and service were greatly inferior. The food was impeccable. We had fish, meat and vegetable dishes, all equally good and a wide choice of wines at affordable prices - not usual is central Dublin hotels. We went back with friends for lunch just before Christmas (at full price) and all four had different starters and mains, only desserts - no, not "puddings" - overlapping. All four of us were delighted with the range on the table d'hote and again at an affordable price.

We have just discovered that dinner special offer vouchers are on offer once again, have bagged one and are all set for our 3rd visit. This place is an absolute treat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Capam1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Citron also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Citron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing