We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellant food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citron

Citron
Ranked #657 of 2,526 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $19 - $31
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: Citron Restaurant in one of Dublin’s hippest, Conran-designed hotels is found at the very heart of town just opposite St Stephen’s Green. On the mezzanine level overlooking the lobby, Citron has Conran’s signature elegant, minimalist luxury with a zesty lime and lemon colour scheme, softly glowing lighting, woven white bar front and dark timber floor. The ambience is Euro-bistro and the modern Mediterranean cuisine is perfectly attuned to how we eat now. Relaxed, funky, fun Citron is one of the very best spots in the city to see and be seen, a great night out starts at Citron and ends in the bar where the ambience is the best.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellant food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have visited this restaurant a few times - it is based in the Fitzwilliam Hotel. I was first introduced to it through work and since have returned. It is on the mezzanine level over looking the lobby. It has a modern feel but fresh and simple. The staff are charming and the host each time has taken a few minutes to chat to us. The waiting staff are well informed on the food they are serving which is lovely and yet not intrusive. The food is fantastic on my last visit I had the risotto starter with squid which was very tasty and then followed with the salmon which I had before but lived up to expectations. I like how the staff serve the food it reminds me somewhat of Thortons upstairs. Lovely restaurant worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Meath82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    41
    16
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

This was my first visit to this restaurant and l was really looking forward to it. However I was a little disappointed with the overall experience. For a start, the restaurant was freezing cold (we were seated looking over the reception area), lacked atmosphere and was quite noisy (from the reception area below). The food was average, the starter the best of the lot. For main I had turkey and ham, which was bland. The single roast potato was a little mean and looked lonely on my plate. On a positive note, the service was excellent - very friendly, attentive and efficient.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“5 star meal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

On first impressions the room seemed large and bistro like ,lacking in atmosphere.
The sheer quality of the food and the amazing imagination of the chef soon dispelled my fears.
The most amazing amuse bouche was presented to us which I took a photo of. Wait for this, Shirts on a clothes line with a dipping sauce!!I kid ye not, truly artistic!
My starter was a beautiful soup and judging by the oh's and ah's of my co-diners their starters were equally as tasty.
The main for me was beef cheeks washed down. by a wonderful Malbec.Dessert was a medley of crumble compote and moreish homemade icecream ,to die for!
I would highly recommend this 5 star restaurant which is on Stephens Greens doorstep .
A better location is hard to beat ,though loo's are down in the lift to lower level. Small price to pay for a beautifully presented meal and served by pleasant staff.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
86 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A place to revisit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

This restaurant is in the same hotel as Thornton's and probably get overlooked in favour of its posher, more upmarket (and much more expensive!) sister restaurant however it's a place I will definitely go back to. I've been here twice recently, for lunch and dinner, and there wasn't a single course I would have any quibble about. The lunch menu was very reasonable (around €25 for 3 courses) and had a good choice of dishes. Service was excellent and though the place itself is not particularly intimate, it is pleasant and definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oldpapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely food but expensive and lacks atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

This was our first visit to Citron and we were impressed by the quality of the food. We enjoyed every course ordered, and we ordered every course available. Service was also good. The negatives for me were that I personally didn't like the dining room - low ceilings and lack of windows - nor did I enjoy the long trip down a couple of floors to the bathroom. On one occasion it took around 10 mins to get there and back due to the lift being very busy.

We would likely return to Citron but only for a special offer as the normal prices are quite high.

Helpful?
Thank DCM_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Citron also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Citron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing